Liturgical Calendar 2015-2016

This is a little “labor of love” I have been working on. Every year, my denomination, the Presbyterian Church (USA), posts a liturgical calendar on its website, but I have never been happy with it for a couple of reasons:

First, Holy Week should be RED, not purple. Preferably a crimson color instead of the fiery red used for Pentecost, but if you only have one red, then go with it. Red is the most under-used liturgical color, anyway. Get your money’s worth out of those red paraments!

Second, they do not allow for the fact that many Reformed churches will want to celebrate Reformation Day, either on October 31 or on the Sunday immediately preceding that date. Likewise, churches may not celebrate All Saints’ Day on November 1 (unless that date happens to fall on a Sunday), so many celebrate it on the Sunday immediately thereafter. Both of these practices are reflected in my calendar.

I did not type the Scripture readings from each Sunday into the calendar, but the readings can be found at the Revised Common Lectionary site, as well as some lectionary-based prayers and other resources for worship.

I hope you enjoy this calendar, and I welcome your feedback! It is in pdf format so you may easily print it. You can find it right here.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Holy Days, Liturgy, Theology, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Liturgical Calendar 2015-2016

  1. Pingback: Liturgical Calendar: About those colors … | Know Tea

Leave a Reply

