Now Glad of Heart be Everyone (for Ascension Sunday)

Now glad of heart be everyone,
The fight is fought, the day is won,
The Christ is set upon his throne. Alleluia.

Who on the rood was crucified,
Who rose again as at this tide
In glory to his Father’s side. Alleluia.

Who baffled death and harrowed hell
And led the souls that loved him well
All in the light of lights to dwell. Alleluia.

By faith, the shield of heart and mind,
Through love which conquers and is kind,
In hope that rides upon his winds. Alleluia.

To him we lift our heart and voice
And in his paradise rejoice
With harp and pipe and happy noise. Alleluia.

Then rise, O Christian folk, with me
And carol forth the One in Three
That was and is and is to be. Alleluia.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Bible, Church, Holy Days, Liturgy, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Now Glad of Heart be Everyone (for Ascension Sunday)

  1. This is my miracle. I have been searching for this hymn for years from numerous hymn books without success. I just decided to type the first line in the search engine today and when this popped out, my God, I spoke in tongues. this knowtea.com, God bless ya real good. This is one of my happiest days.

Leave a Reply

