Another good Communion bread recipe.

I may have to add this one to the Eucharistic Bread Recipes page:

Luther Seminary Communion Bread

We had this one today.  I wanted to try a new one since we have a new wooden paten and a new wooden chalice.  My Roman Catholic and Episcopal friends are scratching their heads right now and asking themselves,”Did he say wooden?  Aren’t a paten and chalice supposed to be gold or silver?”  I’ll post about wooden Communion vessels in the Reformation tradition another time.  Right now, here’s something I think (I hope) we can all agree on:  this is really good Communion bread!

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Church, Food, Liturgy, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another good Communion bread recipe.

  1. Cap'n Whook says:

    But how does that bread taste with grape juice? 🙂

  2. RevJATB says:

    Probably would go pretty well, as long as it’s Welch’s. If you’re going to do grape juice instead of wine, the least you can do is use Welch’s.

    I was at a church one time that used Riunite. Riunite, for Communion. I don’t want my Communion wine to be bubbly.

  3. RevJATB says:

    Actually Kedem or Knudsen’s would be even better than Welch’s.

  4. Mo says:

    I went to an Episcopal funeral a couple of weeks ago. The son of some very senior adult members passed away. Though they were dyed in the wool Baptists, he found our local Episcopal church to be where he encountered God most deeply. As I understand it, a Eucharist celebration is optional for an Episcopal funeral … and his desires were for that to be a part of his funeral service. My family and church tradition limits my exposure to wines (although some dear Presbyterian friends gave us a bottle of white Zinfandel that was pinkish for Christmas … it was OK, but not great). Whatever they used at the Episcopal church was better than any I have every tasted. The priest knew that Joe came from a Baptist family and that there were a lot of us at the funeral, so he was careful to let us know that it was real wine. So the full-time ministerial staff of First Baptist was seen drinking wine together that afternoon. Many of our members who were there did so as well. Imagine that!

    We always use Welch’s here, by the way.

Leave a Reply

