Excursus

Allow me to take a break from my current series of posts to comment on tonight’s AI (that’s why most of you read this little ol’ blog anyway, isn’t it?):

Allison – MAJOR pitch problems!  What were Paula and Simon smoking?  Was she ever ON pitch?

Anoop – Quite good this week, I thought.  Consistently in tune (in contrast to Allison) and actually an engaging performance.  Pleasantly surprised.

Adam Lambert – I disagreed with Simon.  The song is “Born to be Wild,” and the rendition was appropriately wild.  Vocals reminded me of Axl Rose, and that’s a compliment coming from me.

Matt Giraud – Sounded like he was auditioning for the annual talent show at my old high school.  Really painful to watch and even more painful to listen to.

Danny Gokey – Well, the harpist did well.  She should progress to the next round.  Danny, not so much.  Eek.

Kris Allen – Hated the song.  The vocals were good, I thought, but I still hated the song.  Still think he should go to the next round.  He sang better than Allison, Matt, Danny and Lil (see below).  He still gets my vote (along with Adam).

Lil Rounds – I liked her at first.  Now I can’t remember why.  If I were Amanda McBroom I would be offended at this moment.  Just bad taste.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Excursus

  1. Cap'n says:

    Tarentino scares me. Is it not unfair for the judge’s comments to only be two-by-two? (Who gets the spots on the ark?)

    They put the band on stage, and some singers still had ensemble problems. BTW, Matt is sort of a weird combination of Jason Priesly, Justin Timberlake, and John Mayer–aurally and visually.

  2. My breakdown:

    Allison – My new favorite, but apparently, whenever I pick a favorite, they have a bad night. Agreed that this was “a bit pitchy.”

    Anoop – Good vocal; don’t think he’ll last too much longer.

    Adam – Still don’t like him, but he’s got mad skills.

    Matt – Blah. Blah blah blah. He’ll be bottom three.

    Danny – First half, bland. Second half, excellent, with a brilliant finish. He’s had a couple of off weeks, but I think he’s still in there somewhere.

    Kris – Liked the song and the vocal. But I think he’ll be bottom three.

    Lil – Never liked her, and this performance was no good. Her weeks are numbered.

  3. Mo says:

    Can’t wait to get home and watch it on the DVR to see who got voted off. My guess is Lil or Matt. I suspect that Kris still has the teen girl vote even though he didn’t connect well last night.

    I agree about Adam. Can’t stand his look or his manner, but what he does vocally is absolutely amazing.

Leave a Reply

