My personal, embarrassingly dumb mondegreen.

In case you’ve never seen or heard the term, mondegreens are misheard lyrics, such as the famous “‘Scuse me while I kiss this guy” instead of “‘Scuse me while I kiss the sky” from “Purple Haze.” There are many, many web sites devoted to mondegreens, the most famous, appropriately, being Kissthisguy:  The Archive of Misheard Lyrics.

Here’s my personal mondegreen story:  For years (and I mean years), whenever I heard Michael Martin Murphey’s song “Wildfire,” I thought he said “We’re gonna leave South Boston behind” instead of “We’re gonna leave sod-bustin’ behind.” Now, granted, I thought South Boston (or any part of Boston, for that matter) was a weird place to try to have a successful farm, but that’s what it sounded like to me.  When I finally heard someone mention the line and say “sod-bustin’,” it made perfect sense.   Turns out I am not alone.

So embarrassing.

What’s your personal, embarrassingly dumb mondegreen?

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Fun, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My personal, embarrassingly dumb mondegreen.

  1. cancerman says:

    You mean like “Swingin in the cheese” for bringing in the sheaves? For years I couldn’t figure out why CCR sang “There’s a bathroom on the right”.

  2. Cap'n Whook says:

    My worst two are from TV (thank goodness for CD booklets and album inserts):

    Edith and Archie, “All in the Family” theme song: I thought it was “Gee, we’re all a soured grape” or something for “Gee, our old LaSalle [a car] ran great.”

    Now, you’ll have to promise not to think less of me for this one: “Gloom, despair is baggin’ in on me” for “Gloom, despair and agony on me.” Hey, I was really little at the time (and, yes, that was a skit song on “Hee Haw” *cringe*).

  3. Bif Patterson says:

    “If there wasn’t bad luck,
    I’d have no luck at all.
    Gloom, despair and agony on me.”

    My 2nd favorite Hee Haw skit.

    “What’s for supper?” with Grandpa was my favorite listen to. Now my favorite to watch, well, can we say Daisy Dukes?

  4. Bif Patterson says:

    Oh, to answer John Allen’s question:

    I don’t sing along because I never can understand them.

  5. Cap'n Whook says:

    For the sake of textual fidelity: WAAAHOOOO!

  6. Eeyore says:

    Darn, cancerman, you beat me to our family favorite. We were driving along in the car, listening to CCR and heard our oldest daughter (then about 11 years old) singing “there’s a bathroom on the right” instead of “bad moon on the rise”.

    She’s 30 and we still tease her about that one.

  7. Brad says:

    I’ve got lotsa those – but there are three that stand out – two for which I was publicly corrected:

    1) Chris De Burgh’s “Lady in Red” – I used to sing “…is DAHNCING wi-ith me…chuh-duh-duh-CHUH!!” Jessie Bates was quick to say, “It’s CHEEK TO CHEEK ,BRAD!” I don’t know why I thought they were awkward vocal pauses, but I did.

    2) Air Supply’s “Makin’ Love Out of Nothing at All” – My parents would play this record a lot and when I was a kid a childhood friend of mine and I would belt out for the last five words of title lyric “Ack-uh-mucka-natt-OHH!!”

    3) No Doubt’s “Just A Girl” – I thought the final lyrics were “I’m headed up the HILL!” During Biology I our freshman year of high school, my friend Sara Clarke (sometimes commenter here) said “It’s ‘I’ve had it up to HERE,’ Brad!”

    This was fun, JATB…I didn’t know there was a real name for the phenomenon – my erudition advances thanks to you once again, lol…

Leave a Reply

