Deep Thoughts . . .

. . . are eluding me. I know my loyal readers (both of them) have been clamoring for another post, but frankly I haven’t come up with anything interesting to write about.

I will, however, make a couple of recommendations for you:

1) Ed Eubanks has a post about the words we use for our mealtimes, and why it is impossible to have “breakfast for supper.” I liked this post, mainly because I dislike people giving me funny looks if I refer to the midday meal on Sunday as “Sunday dinner.” or the big Thanksgiving meal as “Thanksgiving dinner” even if is in the middle of the day. “Dinner” is the big meal of the day, no matter when you have it. If you have roast beef and mashed potatoes at midday on Sunday and a bologna sandwich at night, then the evening meal is definitely not “dinner.” You had your dinner in the middle of the day and a light supper at night.

2) Also in the food department, Miss Eydie Gourmet (aka Janis Siegel–love that nom de blog!) is now blogging with “How I Spent My Per Diem,” a virtual gastronomic trip around the world. Very entertaining. HT to Laurel for alerting all of us to this gem.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Food, Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Deep Thoughts . . .

  1. Mo says:

    When deep thoughts elude me (as they almost always do), I usually borrow deep thoughts from someone else. I do cite them, though … giving credit where credit is due.

  2. Cap'n Whook says:

    Just so you know, the ultimate authority on such matters is “Amy Vanderbilt’s New Complete Book of Etiquette: The Guide to Gracious Living” (not the other tome by that Emily Post tramp), which agrees with everything posted about the use of the word “dinner.”

    A fine book to have around, since one never knows when one will need to know such things as what a non-menber wears to a fox hunt after Memorial Day.

    In case you didn’t get the “Far Side” reference:

    http://www.lessonsforhope.org/images/cartoon_larson.gif

  3. Cap'n Whook says:

    As for Miss Eydie Gourmet’s blog, I wonder how corbread would do cooked in a Takoyaki pan?(That’s what the “octopus balls (tako-yaki) made in Osaka stalls” is cooked in–that’s a line from a number in “The Mikado,” isn’t it?)

Leave a Reply

