Pound Cake – Old School

The SmockLady got some strawberries for tomorrow and wanted to make some pound cake to go with them.  Since she has a fever, I offered to make the pound cake for her.

Of course, I was going to make Aunt Gene’s Cream Cheese Pound Cake, until I discovered that the one package of cream cheese in the fridge had been opened and not resealed properly, so it was all dry and crusty around the edges.  Schrecklich!

So I decided to go really old school and get out my favorite kitchen utensil:  The Kitchen Scale.

Old School Pound Cake

1 pound of butter
1 pound of sugar
1 pound of eggs (in my case it was 7 eggs:  will vary depending on the size of the eggs)
1 pound of flour
(Butter and eggs should be at room temperature.)
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 cup buttermilk

Sift flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt together in a medium bowl; set aside.  Beat butter in a stand mixer until fluffy.  Gradually add sugar and beat until well creamed and fluffy.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Add vanilla and mix well.  (You may have to stop and scrape down the sides of the mixing bowl at various points.)

Add the flour a little bit at a time, alternately with the buttermilk.  (You may need to add a little more buttermilk to get the right consistency for the batter.  Pour batter into a buttered 9″ loaf pan (there was too much batter for one loaf pan for me:  I put the rest in a smaller loaf pan).  Bake at 325 degrees for 1 hour and 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of the cake comes out clean.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pound Cake – Old School

  1. Ed Eubanks says:

    Would you say there was enough batter for a Bundt pan? That’s how I’ve always enjoyed a good pound cake…

    By the way– I was thinking recently how much I wanted a good pound cake recipe. Thanks!

    Also. Have you heard of a Bourbon cake? Apparently the idea is that you replace all of the liquid ingredients in a regular pound cake with bourbon (which, in your recipe, would just be buttermilk, I suppose– eggs don’t usually count as “liquid” do they?). It’s s’posed to be yummy.

  2. RevJATB says:

    Ed, I think it would be just right for a Bundt pan. I was going to cook it in a tube pan, but then I couldn’t find it, so I went with the loaf pan, and since it was too much batter for that, I figure it would be perfect for a Bundt pan.

    The leavening agents (baking soda and baking powder) could be left out: that just a matter of preference regarding the texture of the cake. A really, really “old school” pound cake would not have them. (Aunt Gene’s Cream Cheese Pound Cake, on Mark’s site, does not use them.) Personally, if I left them out, I would still leave in the 1/2 tsp. of salt because I think it enhances the flavor.

    Have not heard of bourbon cake but it sounds good. Some people use lemon extract or almond extract instead of the vanilla in pound cake, but I like the vanilla.

    We have cut strawberries and layered them with sugar to macerate in the fridge. We’re going to put them on top, and then put some whipped cream on top of that. My sister in law has been known to make “grilled pound cake.” You take a slice of pound cake, grill it in butter (like you’re making a grilled cheese sandwich) and then top it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, chocolate syrup, and whipped cream. REALLY good!

  3. Sheena says:

    I *love* pound cake, I’d never tasted it before we moved here.

  4. Cap'n Whook says:

    A metaphysical question: why is it called pound cake if there are FOUR pounds of major ingredients therein?

  5. Cap'n Whook says:

    Also, I think it should be “pounds cake,” since one gains about ten pounds after eating it.

    Oh, and I realize (now) that “ingredients therein” is redundant; but, as everybody must know by now, I’m only pseudo-intellectual.

  6. Cap'n Whook says:

    Post something soon, or I’ll start quoting boiled mutton, Welsh rabbit, and parsnip recipes! 🙂

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/database/boiledmuttonwithcape_7485.shtml

  7. cancerman says:

    Isn’t it Wesh rarebit?

    PS
    Does the rat tart have much rat in it?

  8. Cap'n Whook says:

    Not much rat–it does have coconut carried by an African swallow, but not a European swallow.

    PS
    Wonder if RevJATB has a tattoo on the back of his neck? (More of a C of E thing, I guess.)

  9. cancerman says:

    He does have grail shaped beacon.

  10. Arstella says:

    This cake sounds tooooooo good. This WILL be the next cake I make . The Old School Pound Cake was absolutely delicious. Funny how you start to bake it in a cold oven and them turn the stove after you put it in there. Never did that before. But it came out perfect. Who knew!!!!!

Leave a Reply

