How to watch the inauguration?

We want the children to see the inauguration.  History.  Civics.  All that.

What is the best way, I wonder, to watch it?  I personally tire of the endless commentary that the major networks feel they have to do, even to the point of talking over the speakers we have tuned in to watch.  We have the most basic of basic cable (can’t afford anything else:  wish we could), so we don’t have CNN, MSNBC, or “fair and balanced” (right) Fox News.  We do, however, get C-SPAN and C-SPAN2, and I know one of those is providing coverage, and of course there will be minimal if any commentary with them.  But I’m wondering if a little commentary would be beneficial for the children as they watch it (besides my own inane comments, that is).

Right now we’ve got it on NBC.  My nine-year-old walked in and saw that the coverage had already started.  Her response : “Is this going to be like the Kentucky Derby, where the real thing is only about two seconds long?”

I notice from the Schedule of Events that Aretha is singing.  She’ll probably do something inspirational, like “America the Beautiful,” but I really, really wish she’d do “Freeway of Love.” I love that song.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to watch the inauguration?

  1. Cap'n Whook says:

    R-E-S-P-E-C-T 🙂

    Make the children read the entire text of the address in the paper tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

