Lest they start quoting Erskine Caldwell . . .

Some of my commenters are getting restless.  They’ve taken to quoting everything from Milton to Poe, just to get me out of hibernation.

So, not much of a post here, but maybe it will stop the quoting frenzy.

I recently acquired a safety razor:  you know, the kind that twists to open so you can drop in a double-sided blade (the kind your dad and your grandfather always used).  I was a little nervous the first time I used it, but the results were great, my face did not get all cut up, and blades cost about 1/10 as much as cartridges.  All I need now is some of this and I’m all set.  Using this now, I’m not nearly as nervous at the thought of using a straight razor as I used to be, although I won’t even attempt that with children in the house!

And now for a little Pepe the King Prawn, OK?

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Lest they start quoting Erskine Caldwell . . .

  1. Cap'n Whook says:

    “There was a big commotion in front of the house, sounding as though somebody had dumped a load of rocks on our steps.”

    Aiight. Enough! 🙂

    So, you managed not to reenact that Scorsese short film (“The Big Shave”), eh?

    Remember, Grasshopper, that a safety razor is like a fountain pen, NO PRESSURE!

    From Milton to Muppets is a bit jarring, you know!

  2. cancerman says:

    Old Dudley got up and peered over the window ledge. Down in the alley, way six floors down, he could see a cracked flower pot scattered over a spray of dirt and something pink sticking out of a green paper bow. It was down six floors. Smashed down six floors.

    Flannery O’Conner. Check

  3. Cap'n Whook says:

    “Don’t you really know, Tubeyfield, that you are the lineal representative of the ancient and knightly family of the de Tubervilles, who derive their descent from Sir Pagan de Tuberville, that renowned knight who came from Normandy with William the Conqueror, as appears by Battle Abbey Roll?”

    Ooops. That’s “d’Urberville.” Check mate.

  4. RevJATB says:

    And still the quoting continues apace. Alas. (Albeit with SEC overtones. Nice touch.)

  5. cancerman says:

    I had no idea that Tuberville had anything to do with Abbey Road.

    “It was a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.”

  6. Cap'n Whook says:

    Burt’s Bees. Some time ago, I purchased a Vulfix shaving brush, a very soft one, which is useless with a soap puck in a mug (which, apparently, requires a boar hair brush to make lather). It’s an English brush, so it only works with English creams that come in tubs (and very hot water, like used for making English tea). It’s all too Rumpolean!

  7. cancerman says:

    Isn’t Pepe the new offensive line coach at Auburn? BTW I’m struggling with Rumpolean.

  8. Cap'n Whook says:

    He was in the movie Rumpolean Dynamite (2004).

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Napoleon_Dynamite

  9. cancerman says:

    I have a “Vote for Pepe” t shirt.

  10. Cap'n Whook says:

    Should I go to the inauguration wearing a “Miss Piggy for Prez” T-shirt?

  11. cancerman says:

    Wouldn’t Gordon be more appropriate?

  12. cancerman says:

    To complete the loop, I used to confuse former UGa defensive coordinator Erk Russell with Erskine Caldwell.

  13. cancerman says:

    If you don’t post something soon I’ll start excerpting Tobacco Road.

  14. Cap'n Whook says:

    That, along with Tennessee Williams, would be the hcavy artillery! Last resort, linking to Ralph Stanley songs!

  15. cancerman says:

    I have always depended on the kindness of strangers.

  16. Cap'n Whook says:

    There’s a Stanley and Stella Shouting Contest.

  17. cancerman says:

    I loved “Streetcar the Musical”.

  18. Mo says:

    Interesting thing to me, John, is that even when you don’t post, content is provided by your readers. My readers hardly ever comment.

    Yeah, I get the message.

    Peace.

  19. RevJATB says:

    You notice, though, Morris, that it is TWO particular readers who have been doing all the commenting!

    (What would I do without you two?)

    You’d be amazed, Mo, how many people DO read your blog and never comment. I hear from people all the time who say, “I read your blog” but they have never commented.

  20. cancerman says:

    Sticking with the theme, we’re Statler and Waldorf and we’re available.

  21. Mo says:

    I hear people say that about mine as well.

    Peace.

Leave a Reply

