Read the Bible

Tomorrow is the Eighth Day of Christmas, a.k.a. the Holy Name of Jesus (it was on the eighth day that Jesus was circumcised, and the Bible tells us that it was at his circumcision that he was given the Name of Jesus).  On the civil calendar it is also New Year’s Day.  No matter which way you look at it, Holy Name or New Year’s, it’s a good time to start reading the Bible!

This page from ESV.org offers many different ways to read the Bible this year, including the Daily Office from the Book of Common Prayer and a Chronological Plan (which I have just added to my RSS feed).  (The Daily Office readings are similar, but not identical, to the daily readings we publish in the church bulletin each week.  If you’d like to access those online, you can do so here.)  You can read the passages online, have them sent to your your E-mail or your RSS feed, to your iCal or your mobile device, or print a hard copy of the reading guide to keep in your Bible.  Now there is no reason not to read the Bible every day in 2009!

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Bible. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Read the Bible

  1. Bif Patterson says:

    Alright, Right Rev., I’ve taken your challenge. I chose to use the chronological reading plan. Well, I hope you are ready to depart your vast knowledge to my wee mind, because I already have plenty of questions.

  2. Cap'n Whook says:

    I’m extremely old fashioned (is it obvious?). It hadn’t even occured to me that there were RSS feeds for the Bible.

    As the Brits would say, “Capital idea, Gov’nor!”
    I’ve added the Daily Office to my feed reader.

    David A.

Leave a Reply

