Now how much would you pay?

http://www.clipser.com/Play?vid=509

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Now how much would you pay?

  1. karen says:

    You found it! And it is the device my mother thought would spread salmonella far and wide! I still think it looks cool…still on for $19.95, you say?

  2. PaulB says:

    What about the inside the cup yogurt scrambler? Oh, that was a Bloom County thing.

  3. Cap'n Whook says:

    HA, batteries not included. And the back splash of the kitchen countertops looks like a 70s vinyl flooring pattern.

    OK, **ANECDOTE ALERT** When I was five, my kindergarten’s Easter project involved “evacuated” eggs (everybody’s mom had to make thumbtack holes in egg ends and blow out the contents– *quit giggling*). My eggs were perfectly wrought, of course, with the smallest possible holes (the eggs some kids brought to class had thumb-tip-sized holes in each end). Ronco’s scrambler would have helped, those yolks are murder!

    My mother’s reaction was priceless, BTW, when she found out what the teacher did with the eggs: “SHE CUT THEM IN HALF! You mean I blew MY BRAINS OUT for her to CUT THEM IN HALF!!!!!!” (We put Easter grass as bedding in half egg shells for little sleeping chicks made out of colored cotton balls–wasn’t that sweet?)

    John, you’ll hit the trifecta if you can find the Inertia Nutcracker TV ad–not a Ronco product, but more silly 70s.

  4. Randall says:

    I remember my dad buying one of these when I was young (probably mid to late 70’s). I think it was used a grand total of 3 times, as most gadgets like this are:

    First time: WOW! Can you believe this?
    Second time: I still think this is kinda neat, but it sure is hard to clean.
    Third time: Wonder how much I can get for this at the next yard sale?

  5. RevJATB says:

    Karen: Yes, the low, low price of $19.95. (Plus shipping and handling, I’m sure.) At ronco.com. Wonder if they throw in an old Slim Whitman record with that.

    Paul: No doubt Opus ordered a few of these in his day.

    Cap’n: We did some blown egg crafts this past Easter involving the Dremel and some ribbon. Quite interesting.

    Randall: Welcome! Please send other Westminster-ites this way! You’re the first person I’ve ever known who has seen the Egg Scrambler up close and personal.

  6. Mo says:

    Donald Miller (author of “Blue Like Jazz” and “Searching for God Knows What”) does a great riff comparing how we present the faith to unbelievers to “The Magic Bullet” infomercials.

Leave a Reply

