The only one I could find.

For years, my mom has tried to remember a joke about a ball peen hammer.  All she can remember is “ball peen hammer,”  but she’ll say that much and start laughing.  I know.

Anyway, in this age of Googling (yes, that’s now a verb:  my German friends even use “googeln” as a verb now) I thought I’d try to look up a ball peen hammer joke.  This is the only one I could find.  Maybe this is it.  Maybe not.  But here goes:

A magician on stage asks for a volunteer to come up and help him with a trick.

“What’s your name?” Asked the magician.

“Todd” said the young man.

“Ok, Todd, I want you to take this ball peen hammer and hit me squarely between the eyes.”

Looking a little unsure, Todd says “Are you sure?”

The magician nods and says “Don’t worry, I’m a professional.”

“Ok…” says Todd, who then hits the magician between the eyes.

Five years later, in a hospital room, the magician wakes up and says “Tada!!”

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The only one I could find.

  1. Cap'n Whook says:

    Good one!

    Have you heard of “Brother” Dave Garner? He was sort of like a cross between Lewis Grizzard and Bob Newhart. He made comedy records that my parents collected in the 1960s.

    He had an expression, “hummin’ like a ten penny finishing nail hit with a greasy ball peen hammer.” This was the punch line for some jokes.

    Quite a character: he was a drummer, had a pipe organ in his house, studied for the ministry, was busted for drug use. Quite well-rounded!

  2. Cap'n Whook says:

    DOH, I left the letter d out of Gardner!
    (And it should have been “neigh” the other day!)

  3. karen says:

    I told your joke before dinner tonight – it was a great success!

  4. Eeyore says:

    The story of your mom laughing about a joke she couldn’t remember reminds me of my aunt, who was laughing about a joke about George Washington and what he said when he crossed the Delaware. At that point she was laughing so hard that the rest of us started laughing, but she could never remember the punch line – ever.

    The fact that she forgot the punch line became a family joke and was probably a lot funnier than the actual joke.

    Pat

  5. Mo says:

    I remember Brother Dave.

    “James Louis, you get away from that wheel barrow. You doesn’t know nothin’ ’bout machinery!”

Leave a Reply

