Dropping in

I requested two books through inter-library loan, and they came in within a day of each other.  Since they can’t be renewed, I have to read them, hence the not blogging so much.  A few tidbits to get you through the day.

  • I’m currently collaborating with a loyal reader on an article.  This should be fun.  I’ll let you know more about it once we’re finished.
  • Hurricane Gustav – We were without power for only about 12 hours.  We had some sticks to pick up, but no damage.  Thank God for that.  And thank God I don’t have to hear any more weather-casters say “gu-STAAHHV.”  Think Mahler, people (you were way ahead of me, David).  Think Holst.  It’s GU-stahf.  One nice lady on the Weather Channel always got it right, as did Tom what’s-his-name here locally.  Everyone else tried to be all hoity-toity and ended up sounding ridiculous.
  • Still waiting to hear from the publisher on the last piece (of music) I submitted.  Got another one in the hopper.  Some of you will get to hear it soon, I hope.
  • JKPC has a Facebook group now and a page for the Homecoming.  Go join the group, sign up for the Homecoming, and send other current and former JKPC members/friends/visitors/adherents/whatever to the same.  The more the merrier at the Homecoming.
  • Did you get the mailer for SU’s Homecoming today?  Be sure to register by sending the card back in or by going to samfordhomecoming.com

I love your comments!

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dropping in

  1. cancerman says:

    Am I colaborating with you or do you have other readers?

  2. RevJATB says:

    There are a couple of other readers: it’s just that you and David are the only commenters left!

  3. Cap'n Whook says:

    Are my eyes deceiving me? The SU Homecoming mailer lists available FLU SHOTS!!!!! ($30)

    No way. In olden times they made us all get encephalitis booster shots. I ended up with an egg-sized welt on my arm for a week (lucky to be THERE, as opposed to elsewhere, I suppose), the handiwork of a nurse famous for injections just under the skin, not in muscle.

    And they put Schutt’s football helmet on Mr. Beeson’s statue for the mailer’s cover picture! That’s more of something that gets done to Bucky (bust in the School of Music lobby that, by long tradition, gets unmercifully adorned with various things–a certain composition major’s underwear was the best/worst). ROFL

    [Congratulations and/or good luck on all your current and/or pending endeavors and storm survival, BTW.]

  4. RevJATB says:

    I adorned Bucky with a fetching scarf for one week in December once, as I recall.

  5. Mo says:

    Unfortunately we can’t be there for homecoming as the high school band is hosting South Carolina Upperstate Marching Band contest that weekend … and we’re very much needed to work. Band is small (but growing), therefore not many band parents, therefore everyone very important for a successful contest.

    We will write an update on the website for anyone who cares to read.

    Enjoy, those of you who can make it.

  6. Tim Horn says:

    Gustav Holst is from Cheltenham.

  7. RevJATB says:

    But not Gustav Mahler, I reckon. Hey, now that you’re in the States, why don’t you come preach for me sometime?

  8. Tim Horn says:

    Would love to do it. Give me some dates.

Leave a Reply

