Ninnie Threadgood eat your heart out.

I cooked some Fried Green Tomatoes last night.

No, I didn’t use Fannie Flagg’s recipe, which is just like the way my mom cooks them.  (Slice the tomatoes, salt them on both sides to make them “sweat”, dip them in corn meal mixed with a little salt and pepper, fry.)

I opted for the way they make them at the Irondale Cafe, the real-life inspiration for the Whistle Stop Cafe in Fannie Flagg’s novel, Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe.  (Fannie Flagg’s aunt ran the Irondale Cafe for many, many years.)

I took mixed 1 and 1/2 cups of flour with 1/2 cup of yellow corn meal and 1/2 tsp. each salt and pepper.  Then I mixed in enough milk to make a thick batter.  I had previously sliced the green tomatoes and salted them on both sides to make them sweat.  I dipped them in the batter and fried them in canola oil.  (Fannie Flagg’s original recipe calls for bacon grease, but fried foods are out of the box enough for us around here.  Bacon grease is taking it a bit too far, IMHO.)

I liked them battered better than the cornmeal-only variety, but not everyone agreed.  Our 10 year old loved them this way, but my wife said she prefers the (more traditional?) cornmeal-only variety.  However, we both agreed we prefer fried okra of the cornmeal-flour-milk-batter variety to the cornmeal-only variety.

Thoughts?  Anyone out there who has never tried fried green tomatoes?  You need to get some green tomatoes this week and give it a try.

(BTW the nursing home Ninnie Threadgood lived in was based on the old Rose Manor Nursing Home that was on 4th Avenue South in East Lake.)

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ninnie Threadgood eat your heart out.

  1. Cap'n Hook says:

    I’ve had fried green tomatoes, but not at the Irondale Café, oddly enough. My father used to eat there all the time in the 1960s.

    I think the flour/cornmeal variety is better. My grandmother fixed them like Fannie (all cornmeal, if I’m reading correctly). Kinda heavy for ‘maters. Others in the family would add flour. Everybody argued as the food, nevertheless, vanished.

    As long as you don’t put SUGAR in the coating, everything’s d’accord.

    Oh, my grandmother always called them “green fried tomatoes,” which I would point out wasn’t quite correct. She’d look a hole through me.

  2. Cap'n Whook says:

    Oh blimey! Misspelt me own ‘andle. GuessWho can’t even proofread.

    Where have all the grav’tars gone? And the monsters. (Wasn’t that a Pete Seeger song?)

  3. RevJATB says:

    The Gravatars will be back. My wife upgraded WordPress for me, then her computer had to go bye-bye to get fixed. I promise they will be back soon!

Leave a Reply

