Majesty Radio

I’ve written before about that “You must not love Jesus” look I always get when I tell people I don’t like to listen to “Christian music” (because, you know, the music itself got saved and has a personal walk with Jesus every day).  It’s not entirely true, of course, that I don’t like to listen to music with generally religious and/or expressly Christian themes.  It’s just that, when most people ask me if I listen to “Christian music” or “Christian radio” (because, in like manner, the old Philco radio itself experienced faith and repentance), what they usually mean is today’s commercial Christian pop or “praise and worship” music, which is essentially Christian “lite pop.”  I don’t like to listen to that, no.

Now, I do often listen to commercial pop or even “lite pop”, as readers of this blog will no doubt know by the frequent American Idol posts.  I really like a lot of pop music, probably more than should be admitted in educated company.  I really like a lot of jazz, too.  But I don’t believe those musical forms do justice to the themes of Christian theology.  A know that 99% of the evangelical world disagrees with me on that.  So sue me.  That’s how I believe.  That is my conviction.  I don’t judge others for liking Christian pop:  don’t judge me as “not really loving Jesus” for not liking Christian pop.

I do, however, like to listen to what used to be called church music.  Well, it still is called church music, but since you’ll hear everything under the sun in church now, the term isn’t very useful.  What used to be generally regarded as “church music” as contrasted with Christian pop music (a category which would include not only Christian rock, Christian lite pop, Christian commercial country, etc., but also older styles of pop music, such as the Bill Gaither Trio) was a category of music that included hymns, metrical Psalms, anthems, organ music, organ with brass and/or tympani, etc.

Moody Radio has long featured an hour of great church music every day on its “Sound of Majesty” program, hosted by Greg Wheatley.  St. Olaf College’s “Sing for Joy” program does too, as does Richard Gladwell’s “With Heart and Voice.”  “Pipedreams” with Michael Barone features, obviously, organ music, but a great deal of that is church music, as the pipe organ was the church music instrument for many centuries.  All of these programs are great sources of church music for those who also enjoy that sort of thing, as I do.

Now, Moody has a 24-hour, online radio station called “Majesty Radio.” It’s basically a 24-hour version of “Sound of Majesty.”  Give it a listen.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Church, Music, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Majesty Radio

  1. cancerman says:

    Wouldn’t Jesus, being jewish, listen to klesmer?

  2. Capt. Whook says:

    Said it before, bears repeating: those immersion baptisms of Christian Radio must be rough! Of course, fewer radios operate solely on AC these days and there are GFI circuits. 🙂

    I have heard people say (and agree) that the enjoyment of music is a gift of the Holy Spirit, no matter the music’s type or its composer’s character. (Providing that the text of a pop song is not too naughty. Nobody thinks Holy Spirit in relation to Marilyn Manson!) I guess some are more comfortable with their pop music having OVERT religiosity, hence the appeal of Christain radio for exclusive or large swaths of their listening time–which, of course, is their choice and fine, especially if Rush Limbaugh is on air opposite. Sorry, sorry, couldn’t resist. (Now, if I am all theologically cock-a-hoop on this, correct me. I’m NOT advocating turning all Music into a religion, BTW.)

    C. S. Lewis had some sensible things to say about all this in a worship context.
    http://www.worshipandchurchmusic.com/cslewis.html

    I’m the John McCain of online radio (he doesn’t do computers). I’ll have to get that going!

    By the way, don’t you think the Idol song this year, “Time of My Life,” would be just great sung by CHER (also, mustn’t diss Cookie)? RevJATB, didn’t you do a Cher impression in college?

  3. cancerman says:

    He did Paul Shaeffer doing Cher in seminary.

  4. Capt. Whook says:

    ROFL !!!!!!

    Maybe that was always the impression. He wouldn’t always do it on request at dear SU. Would clam up like Michigan J. Frog.

  5. cancerman says:

    If memory serves, all it takes to prime the pump is someone else doing an imitation of Neil Diamond singing “Sweet Caroline”.

  6. RevJATB says:

    I’ve been known to do an impression of Neil Diamond AND Cher singing “You Don’t Bring Me Flowers.” I don’t do Streisand, sorry.

Leave a Reply

