Truism

Musicians who really don’t need to practice, still practice.

Those who really, really need to practice, don’t practice.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Music, Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Truism

  1. PaulB says:

    I’ll pass that on to Stephen who’s taking piano. Andrew can’t seem to put down his guitar which is *mostly* a good thing.

  2. Capt. Whook says:

    I don’t set out to practice, I play. But, dag nabbit, I can’t seem to stop choosing new things to play and can’t seem to stop forgetting what I already know.

    I stay happy if I’m clever and intuitive enough with practicing not to get in the way of my own talent. The darker, creepier, but less smug version of that last statement would be that I am less miserable if I lower expectations and stick to what’s short and easy. 🙂

    There’s a famous quotation to the effect that one will overhear the worst music coming out of the best musicians’ houses (a reference either to the unglamorous nature of practice or a slam against how Chopin’s students sounded during their lessons, I can’t remember which).

  3. cancerman says:

    I’m making both princesses read this.

Leave a Reply

