Maybe he meant to say "I am Captain Hook"

When Nixon made his famous “I am not a crook” statement, he was standing in the Contemporary Resort at Walt Disney World.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Maybe he meant to say "I am Captain Hook"

  1. GuessWho says:

    No, William F. Buckley was Captain Hook.

  2. cancerman says:

    Is G. Gordon Liddy the crocodile?

  3. RevJATB says:

    I’m sure Liddy has wrestled a crocodile before. Or at least he tells everyone he has.

  4. How do you get these avatars on your comments, and can you customize? You know, upload your own as a commenter?

  5. RevJATB says:

    Hey Travis,

    You can get a customized one by signing up for a Gravatar. Go to http://en.gravatar.com

    You can upload whatever picture you like, but it has to go through an approval process (presumably so someone one have nekkid pictures as a Gravatar). It may take about 24 hours. You sign up with whatever E-mail address you want. Then, when you comment on a blog that uses Gravatars, your Gravatar appears next to your name (provided you’ve commented using the same E-mail address you used on the Gravatar site).

    The monsters are a plugin my wife put on this site. Anyone who does not have their own Gravatar gets assigned a monster. So some people have gone and gotten a Gravatar, Others seem to like the monsters . . .

  6. GuessWho says:

    Get it? Dustin Hoffman said he based his portrayal of Captain Hook on Buckley’s mannerisms in that masterpiece of cinematography, “Hook” (1991).

    BTW (indulge), I’ve thought about changing my handle to commemorate recent shenanigans, as in combine “Who” and “Cook.” “GuessWhook,” whadoyathink? Or even “David Whook?” Naw . . . no dignity. So, let’s just keep the “GuessWho” but you can call me “David” arrangement.

    Now, when we all need to comment conversate and salutate, but disambiguate, “David (A., or Cook)” is OK.

    Switching gears, on a Mac I had trouble getting Safari to upload an image with the Gravatar site. A browser switch to Opera did the trick. I think you can become a member of WordPress.com and create an avatar that will display here.

  7. RevJATB says:

    David, I think Whook would be good. How about Captain Whook?

    Sorry I did not catch the Dustin Hoffman/Buckley connection at first. I loved Buckley’s spy novels.

    I have Safari on my computer but have only used it once or twice. I pretty much use Firefox exclusively now.

  8. GuessWho says:

    Travis, nice Gravatar. Noel Coward?

    John, the redoutable expert “they say” prefers Firefox for a number of reasons including security, I think I’ve read. They used to say that Opera does up/downloads best. I just like the name!

  9. RevJATB says:

    Looks like C.S. Lewis to me.

  10. GuessWho says:

    Ah, yes, I see the exact image on a Google search. They do look similar– Jon Cryer : Matthew Broderick :: Noel Coward : C. S. Lewis.

    Mine, I guess, looks like the actor who portrayed Aslan dressed for a premier.

  11. RevJATB says:

    It is a very dapper lion, indeed.

Leave a Reply

