Which David?

I must say, the AI machine certainly seemed to be doing its best to coax America to vote for Archie. The question is, did it work?

The judges’ effusive praise of Li’l David last night was just a bit over the top, no? Even the most gullible among us would have to admit it all seemed a little scripted. The AI powers that be have wanted Archie to win this from day one, just as they pushed Jordin and Blake on us last year. The only difference last year was that Simon wouldn’t play along. He held out for the one with the most talent: Melinda.

Last night, he was happy to gush about Archuleta. Personally, I thought Archie rehashing his already warmed-over version of “Imagine” was cheap. (No, that’s not an original arrangement, as the judges tried to lead you to believe. It was lifted, pretty much note-for-note, from Eva Cassidy.) I do agree that David Archuleta has a lovely voice, but overall I think David Cook has proven himself to be the better musician and better performer.

But let’s face it, American Idol has become Teen Idol, or even Preteen Idol, so at this point I’m going to say it’s pretty unlikely Cook will win in, although I hope he does.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Which David?

  1. Mo says:

    I can just see the cover of Tiger Beat magazine now!

  2. GuessWho says:

    (Sorry to be so long. Ain’t every day your double could be Idol winner.)

    OK, Double done good, but . . .

    Judging harshly on a ten point scale per song (6=good, 8=very good, 10=WOW), with insta-bonuses of 1 pt. for “genuine tears” and 1 pt. for “take me home from the pound,” I cipher [ciphered, written last night]:

    David C. — 8 + 7 + 8* = 23 (* inc. tears bonus)
    David A. — 6 + 8 + 9* = 23 (* inc. pound bonus)

    WHEREAS the panel has spun the thing to David A., the caller vote will follow suit. So, David A. wins, THE LITTLE TWERP.

    I strongly disagree (with Simon) on the first song, I didn’t think David A. won that one.

    I may be wrong on song #2. David C. was too raspy, but David A. was too repetitive (song’s fault, but he should make up for it).

    “David C. could have used a stronger ending song.” This is a rather facile kind of criticism. All this shouldn’t necessarily be thought of as a heads-up match.

    Wasn’t the boxing shtick awful? A. L. W. looked like a gargoyle.
    _________________
    RevJATB, this has been fun. I had only been Idol grazing with a vague awareness of “the guy with [artfully] messy hair” (and another with dreads) until you blindsided me. Some of the YouTube show clips with David C. interviews in full sun are jolting–it’s younger me! Let’s hope for you that Paul Reiser is on Celebrity Jeopardy soon. LOL

  3. PaulB says:

    GuessWho- it’s funny that you gush over the similarity between you and David C. I get the same feeling when I look at Pierce Brosnan but only in reverse- he’s older.

  4. GuessWho says:

    Taylor Hicks has it about right (who knew, he has a brain!). He was quoted in the B’ham News.

    “I think both of them are equally talented,” Hicks said. “It all comes down to fan bases. David Cook is obviously going to do well in the pop-rock genre, a la Daughtry and Nickelback. He’s definitely more of a musician type.

    “David Archuleta is more of a kid entertainer and performer. It’ll be interesting to see how he’ll want to take the `Idol’ thing, and what he’ll do with it.”

    PaulB — Well, JOHN brought it up. I mean, really, one tries to comport oneself with quiet dignity and . . .

Leave a Reply

