Just humor me

I have to do this every once in a while.? It doesn’t do any good, but I just have to say this.

OK, America (these are all things I’ve heard on radio or TV in the past week):

It’s “cut and dried,” not “cut and dry.”? As in flowers that have been cut and dried.? Or beef jerky.

It’s “if worse comes to worst,” not “if worse comes to worse.”? Worse is already worse.? It can only come to worst or to better.

The plural of “attorney general” is “attorneys general,” not “attorney generals.”? They are not generals:? they are attorneys.? “General” is an adjective in this case.

It’s “just between you and me,” not “just between you and I.”? “Between” is a preposition.? “I,” “he,” and “she” cannot be direct objects or objects of a preposition.? They are nominative, not objective.? It’s “me,” “him,” and “her.”

It’s an “orangutan,” not an “orangutang.”

Louisiana residents, the animal (not to mention the British auto) is a Jaguar, not a “jag-wire.”

“Athlete” has only two syllables, not three.? “Athletics” has three syllables, not four.

It’s “should have gone,” not “should have went.” (This was from the lips of a local TV news anchor, not an interviewee.)

No product can have “less calories.” It may have less fat, and it may have fewer calories, but it cannot have “less calories.”

“Jewish rabbi” is a redundancy.? That’s like saying “widow woman.” A rabbi will be, by definition, Jewish.? There is no such thing as a Christian, Buddhist. Hindu, Muslim, Shinto, Sikh, or Bahai rabbi.

Thanks.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Just humor me

  1. GuessWho says:

    What gets me are constant faulty conditional contructions such as, “If Saban would have known about Finebaum, he would have never went to Alabama .”

    “Paul Finebaum is someone up with whom Paul W. Bryant would not have put.” Winston Churchill. 🙂

    (I’ve heard too much A-Day Game coverage this week.) http://www.finebaum.com/

  2. Kim says:

    Correct grammar makes me happy. I really like reading grammar corrections. Nerdy.

    I enjoy your blog. I especially like your stories about your homeschool group. We are in a similiar group (you know, with people who constantly cause me to bite my tongue). I call them the “Holiness Clan”.

  3. Sara says:

    Up north, I have to work really hard not to do some of these things. Especially ‘jag-wire’. I also have trouble with ‘orangutang’ and ‘if worse comes to worse’.

    Though I have a feeling that ‘worse… worse…’ comes from the same linguistic anomaly that produces ‘whole nother’ – which I am fully behind. Some things just sound better.

    I also think ‘would have known’ instead of ‘had known’ is kind of cute — I have a feeling it’s a vestigial francophonism, as ‘they have…’ for ‘x exists’ is. When you move far from home, you get nostalgic for your local dialect. That said, I’m no broadcaster.

  4. RevJATB says:

    David,

    At least Finebaum is entertaining. I miss being able to listen to him.

    I guess you’ve found, like me, that since public radio has cut way back on the amount of music they play, sports talk radio is just as good as anything else to listen to when you’re in the car.

    The only talk radio stations near here are AM, and I can’t pick them up in the car. So my radio listening choices are pretty much limited to the approximately 50 local country stations, Top 40, Christian elevator music, and sports talk. No brainer.

  5. RevJATB says:

    Sara, don’t feel bad. I heard a BBC-sounding announcer on Animal Planet say “orangutang” not long ago.

  6. Ed Eubanks says:

    One curiously complicating factor for the last one: Jesus was Himself frequently called “Rabbi” or some iteration (John 20, for example), so it is an understandable mistake when people refer to Him as “rabbi.” It doesn’t make it right, it just makes it understandable.

  7. cancerman says:

    But Jesus was (is?) Jewish. As a matter of fact, you could make a very good argument that he restored Judaism to its correct state, not founded a new religion.

    I like southern idioms but it does pay to get it right.

  8. Sara says:

    They called Jesus “rabbi” because he was one.

    Jesus was born a Jew, and it was not until well after his death that anybody considered Christians gentiles by default. In an alternate universe where history happened differently, there might be Christian rabbis in the same way there are Reform rabbis, Hasidic rabbis, etc.

    But here in this one, you don’t say Jewish rabbi any more than you say Muslim imam.

  9. Lewis says:

    I think I have finally cured my spouse (don’t tell her I threw her under the bus, which there is little danger of, since you don’t know me, unless your brother does the deed, and boy am I using a lot of commas in this incredibly long parathetical phrase) of this one: it’s not “I could care less” but “I couldn’t care less”. Just think through it. The intent is to say that you are at the bottom end of the scale in regards to caring about the subject. That reminds me that there are a number of things that fall into that category with me and that it would make an interesting subject of a blog.

  10. Sara says:

    The funny thing about “I could care less” is that it would make perfect sense if you finished the sentence with “…but why bother?”

  11. Morris says:

    Ohhhh, don’t even get me started.

    In total agreement (and good grammar makes me happy as well).

Leave a Reply

