AI meets P&W

Some callers on Christian radio this morning were complaining that AI “watered down” the song “Shout to the Lord” by substituting the word “Shepherd” for the word “Jesus.”

Watering down “Shout to the Lord”?? Anyone else find that statement more than a little ironic?

That’s like complaining that you’ve been served Tang that wasn’t freshly squeezed.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to AI meets P&W

  1. PaulB says:

    Great analogy!

  2. cancerman says:

    Do they think that AI meant Shepherd Smith from the tv news? Excuse me for saying this but people is dum.

  3. Debby says:

    I love it!!! That really made me laugh out loud (I refuse to use “LOL!”)!!!

  4. Morris says:

    On Wednesday I think they actually sang “My Jesus …”

    And though I lead a “contemporary” service almost every Sunday morning (as well as a “traditional” one), I don’t particularly care for “Shout to the Lord.” That being said, I kind of liked the inclusion. Bob Kauflin has an interesting take on it here: http://www.worshipmatters.com/2008/04/shout-to-the-lord-on-american-idol/

    The orange juice/Tang analogy is good. If I asked for orange juice and was instead given Tang, I would disappointed by what I received. If, on the other hand, I asked for Tang and got it, I would be satisfied. But orange juice is definitely better. Where we run into trouble is when people ask for Tang and don’t want anything better. That’s where ministry gets difficult. “I know what I like” usually means “I like what I know”.

    Peace to all.

Leave a Reply

