Church kids are the “best.”

Yes, the scare quotes are on purpose.

This afternoon, around 3:00 (15:00 for those of you who are used to 24-hour time), my wife and our eight year old, “Birdie,” came home from a long day of laundrette-ing and errand-running (including a visit to Lord Waldemart).? They had not eaten lunch, whereas those of us who remained at home had eaten at noon.? My wife had picked up something for herself and Birdie, and they sat down and ate pretty much the minute they came through the door:? they were both very hungry.

Princerella, the six-year-old, wanted some of those French fries, but I reminded her that we had already eaten our lunch, while Mama and Birdie had not had anything to eat, and we should let them have their lunch.? “OK,” she said.?? Right.

I went into the next room for a few moments, and when I came back, Princerella was standing next to her sister, who was still sitting at the table eating her very late lunch.? Princerella looked like she had a couple of fries dangling from her mouth, I think.? I’m not entirely sure, because the moment I came into the room, she got down on her knees so that I could only see her from the eyes up from behind the table.

“Princerella,” I asked the brown eyes with no nose or mouth, “Are you eating Birdie’s fries?”

“No,” the wide-open brown eyes replied.

“Princerella, will you please get up and go into the den?”

“I’m praying.”

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Children. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

