Hairspray

We watched the movie of the musical of Hairspray last night.? I loved it.? Of course, I really love the original movie.? I haven’t seen the musical on stage, so it was nice to see and hear how they put it to music.? I thought they captured the spirit of the original movie very well.

I loved the cameos by John Waters (the director of the original film), Ricki Lake (the original, and BEST, Tracy Turnblad), and Jerry Stiller (the original Wilbur Turnblad).?? It was really nice the way they had Ricki Lake, Marissa Jaret Winokur (the first Tracy Turnblad on Broadway), and Nikki Blonsky (Tracy in the film of the musical) all sing “Mama, I’m a Big Girl Now” together over the closing credits.

My only beef with the filmed version of the musical:? why didn’t Tracy go to juvy?? The stage musical was faithful to that part of the plot.? What is Hairspray without the cries of “Free Tracy Turnblad”?? I didn’t understand taking that out.

Queen Latifah was great as Motormouth Maybelle, although I’d love to see Darlene Love in the role (she is playing it right now on Broadway).? John Travolta was quite impressive as Edna Turnblad.? His comic parody of a Baltimore accent was hysterical. ? (George Wendt is playing this role on Broadway right now:? I can’t imagine that.)?? We were all glad they let Zac Efron do his own singing:? he sings much better than whoever dubbed his voice for High School Musical.

My recommendation:? if you’ve never seen the original John Waters film Hairspray, go rent it right away, and after you’ve watched that, then go rent the musical version.

Free Tracy Turnblad!

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hairspray

  1. Sheena says:

    A new production opened late last year in the West End, I managed to see it in the preview week and it was fantastic.

    It has had rave reviews, I really hope I can get to see it again.

  2. RevJATB says:

    Sheena,

    When we win the lottery (which will be very, very hard to do since we’ve not entered), we MUST travel to London and go see a bunch of shows with you.

    The last show I saw was Les Miserables, if that gives you any indication of how long it’s been since I’ve been to a musical.

  3. MoDrig3 says:

    Last one I saw was Angela Landsbury in Mame in the 1980’s. She revived her role and they also had the original Miss Gooch and the original Ito. I can’t remember what I paid for the SRO ticket. I was visiting my sister in NYC … Looooong time ago.

Leave a Reply

