The Latest

I wrote the other day about the Harry-haters.  Yesterday at the home-school coöp, a girl in my nine-year-old son’s class, who has previously called him a “Satan worshiper” because he likes the Harry Potter books, told him, “Presbyterians are just Satan worshipers who put Bibles in their churches to fool everybody.”  Lovely.

Here are some pictures of some of us evil satanic Presbyterians engaging in some of our occult rituals.  (This is the church we worshiped in before we moved here.  Notice especially the pictures of what we call a “sack race,” an ancient form of divination, and our darkest ritual of all, known as a “potluck.”  “Secret’s in the sauce,” I always say.)

Besides, if she’d bother to visit one of our churches, she’d find that we’re far too busy putting AIDS-infected hypodermic needles in gas pump handles and in the ball pits at all the Chuck E. Cheeses around the country to have time for reading Bibles.

I hurt for a child who grows up with such a fearful, paranoid, bigoted world view.  Sounds like she’s been to “Jesus Camp.”

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Children, Church, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Latest

  1. emily says:

    So that’s what that book is for! I’m so glad she enlightened us

  2. cancerman says:

    I guess the secret is out. Should we go ahead and start the revolution early.

    Long Live Harry!

  3. Kay says:

    Makes you wonder what the parents are teaching their kids. Scary

  4. cancerman says:

    I just saw an interview with Bono. He said he never had a problem with Christ, his problem was with Christians.

    I wonder if his kids are in the same group?

  5. tragic_pizza says:

    That is sad. Hilarious, but sad.

    Wanna know why the institutional church is dying? See above.

Leave a Reply

