Beautiful

That’s not a word I throw around.

If you happened to be watching/listening to Live from Lincoln Center last night, you witnessed a shining example of Beauty.? Arnold Sch?nberg’s Verkl?rte Nacht (Transfigured Night), played in its original string sextet version (Sch?nberg later scored it for full string orchestra) by members of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center in a program cleverly titled “I Can’t Believe It’s Schoenberg!”

This has long been one of my very favorite pieces of music, and to hear it expertly played, as it was last night, was incredible.? Great art, performed greatly, is a beautiful thing.? Makes me wonder which is worse, inferior music or great music performed poorly.? There is, of course, plenty of both to go around.? More than plenty, depending on where you live.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

