I apologize in advance.

Especially to all the brass players who read this blog. And to those who have any sense of pitch whatsoever. And pretty much everyone else. It is like driving by a really gruesome car wreck. You know you really shouldn’t look, but you do anyway.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Humor, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I apologize in advance.

  1. brad says:

    wow…I don’t know what’s most painful – the lack of pitch, the “hiding from the Death Star” thing (or whatever her little dramatic looks of caution were supposed to be) or that fantastic dancing (especially to the Cantina music).

    where EVER do you find this stuff?

  2. karen says:

    Is it sinful of me to be the tiniest bit proud to think I would not have come in last in the Miss Arizona 1993 pageant?

  3. vrouw_jonker says:

    I don’t know. Stacy (Miss Douglas) has a certain flair. I think one of her competitors maliciously posted this & distorted the sound.

  4. PaulB says:

    As a former trumpet player, I’m not sure how you could be so off. I guess they were playing in different keys or her trumpet was WAY out of tune.

    I did like the way she added those Michael Jackson “Billie Jean” dance moves to the whole thing.

  5. TimmyRalph says:

    Meco cannot be happy about this!

  6. RevJATB says:

    I thought the very same thing, Tim. Then I listened, and it’s not exactly the Star Wars theme. It sounds like something that was done in order to get out of paying licensing fees. They do this in commercials all the time: just change so many notes and legally it’s not plagiarism–but it’s really tacky and cheap. (You can really hear it in the “cantina music” section: the rhythm is the same but the pitches are all different.) I’m sure there’s a name for this in the biz, but “ripoff” comes to mind for me.

  7. Pbankson says:

    Let me hazard a guess- she was the only contestant in the Miss Douglas pageant.

  8. RevJATB says:

    “Let me hazard a guess- she was the only contestant in the Miss Douglas pageant. . .”

    . . . and she came in second!

    Pa Dum Pum!

  9. PaulB says:

    Check out this link. It has a brief interview with Stacy Hedger. She’s a pretty good sport about her newfound fame. Apparently this video was on Jimmy Kimmel Live

    http://blogs.pitch.com/plog/2007/10/stacy_hedger_revealed.php

  10. Smocknmama says:

    Just testing the gravatars. I don’t even want to comment on that up there because I am afraid I won’t be nice.

  11. cancerman says:

    That was pretty brutal. I always thought I was tone deaf, but still it got to me. I kept expecting Bill Murray’s lounge singer character to appear.

    Is there some charity or something we can give to to stop this sort of thing?

  12. Don says:

    Poor thing. She’ll be living with this performance a long time.

  13. Charles says:

    Still…she’ll always have Miss South Carolina to make her feel better.

  14. MoDrig3 says:

    I could have gone all year without having to endure that.

  15. MoDrig3 says:

    With deferential apologies to my friend Charles, for whom I have utmost respect even though we differ in some political views, Miss South Carolina was speaking off the cuff and couldn’t figure out how to say what she wanted to say. This musical misdeed HAD to have been committed with rehearsals prior to the live event … and there is plenty of blame to go around. Where were the sound tech’s ears? Where were anybody else’s ears? Any number of people could have / should have fixed the pitch discrepancy before the event. Or did somebody mess with the pitch/tape speed between the rehearsal and performance?

    I’ve checked out the link PaulB gave us in his comment. Yes, she is a good sport about her new-found fame, and I wish her nothing but the best as a parent and citizen … but in the interview I heard nothing that indicated an awareness that she was in one key and the track was in another. One thing was clear … she was very gracious in the interview and showed a lot of class.

  16. RevJATB says:

    Morris, when I posted this I had two people in mind; you, my trumpet-playing friend, and my lovely wife, herself a brass player. She could not make it through one viewing/hearing of this veritable buffet for the senses.

  17. MoDrig3 says:

    A couple of years ago for Christmas I asked Dawn for the Haydn trumpet concerto. I just began work on it last week to try to keep my lip up. Benjamin (age 13) started on trumpet in 7th grade last year (pity we don’t have band available in 6th grade) and finished the 7th AND 8th grade band curriculum in 1 year with time to spare. I will protect him (if possible) from the trauma of having to listen to this video.

    Both boys marched with the high-school band (Taylor’s 3rd year, BJ’s first) this year. Since marching season is over, BJ still goes to the high school on the afternoons he doesn’t have to stay after for Science Olympiad to play in the concert band. Band director is moving him to first trumpet for the Christmas parade. It will be interesting to see what happens after that.

Leave a Reply

