Not news to me either, Mo

My good friend Morris posted this on his blog today, and I wanted you to see it.? Go over to Mo’s site to read his thoughts about this.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Not news to me either, Mo

  1. cancerman says:

    I’m not surprised at all. In part it’s because we’ve made the church about something besides the gospel, ie, our brokeness being covered by Christ’s perfection. Instead we make it, or let others make it, about us. Nobody can live up to the standards.

  2. cancerman says:

    I’m not saying it’s the pastors fault. Many times they are convinced preachers of the gospel and others get them.

  3. Laurel says:

    My Lutheran pastor friend Rev. Steve Hummel used to talk about alligators in the swamp. I think he meant that ministry is like a swamp – fecund, rich, teeming with life – and there are alligators that must be dealt with.
    I think this is true anytime we open ourselves to be vulnerable, to risk love. But how else can we survive, how thrive? I don’t know what the answer is for clergy, who have all the nonstop demands of celebrity and precious little of the dough. I do know that, as a musician, the kindest and most Christlike treatment I have ever received happens in a secular music camp, and just about the worst I have ever been hurt as a musician was in and by a church. I have come, over the years, to see that particular church as maimed, crippled. Tragic. It had all the obligations and none of the joy of community, and church is, first and foremost, community. It takes a lot of work to form and maintain community. A lot of love to extend the invitation to gather, over and over. In religion we are very hard on each other – why IS that? We are more judgmental than our Lord. I guess we think He is letting things slide… and that we can manage better?
    Sometimes we can’t pass the bread of heaven around the table because we already have our hands full passing the blame.

  4. Laurel says:

    To clarify something I said earlier – In describing a church as “maimed, crippled.Tragic”t, I refer to hat particular church in that particular town, not Church as a whole or any denomination as a whole.

  5. RevJATB says:

    I understood you perfectly, Laurel. After all, you did say “that particular church.” But I think it’s also true that all of us are maimed and crippled in some way. The trick is in realizing that. As soon as I think I’m not maimed and crippled and start looking down on those whom I deem to be so, that’s when trouble starts.

  6. Morris says:

    I just returned from the Catalyst conference. Francis Chan spoke on Thursday afternoon. Incredible speaker. He related a comment from someone in history (can’t remember who just now) who said something to the effect of, “The church is kind of like Noah’s ark. It can be messy and it stinks sometimes, but if you leave, you’ll drown.”

  7. RevJATB says:

    My uncle didn’t put it so delicately. He said “if it weren’t for the flood outside, you couldn’t stand the stench inside.”

Leave a Reply

