Lord Waldemart Strikes Again

Just saw this story on the news. We had a state-tax-free weekend this past weekend, and many people (the SmockLady included) used the weekend to buy school supplies and school uniforms. Most of those purchases were made at Wal-Mart stores around the state. Apparently, at least one Wal-Mart store (I’m assuming the one in the story is the one on Louisville in Monroe) was not only charging the full 10% (4% state sales tax plus 6% local taxes) instead of only 6%, but they were also tacking on an additional 4.9%. So, instead of paying 6% during the tax holiday, the “Always low prices” place was charging customers 14.9%.

Let’s imagine you had to buy school supplies and uniforms for several children. That could easily run you $300.00 or more. Suppose you decided to go to Wal-Mart to buy those items, thinking, “Hey! It’s the sales tax holiday, and Wal-Mart always has the lowest prices. Always. What a combo!” So you priss your happy butt on down to Waldemart on Louisville.

You find all the items on your list and take your $300.00 worth of supplies and uniforms to the counter. With 6% sales tax, your total would be $318.00, instead of the $330.00 you’d pay any other time. However, since you decided to visit Waldemart on Louisville, you pay $344.70. That’s $26.70 more than you should have paid. Wal-Mart just stole $26.70 from you. What if you stole merchandise totalling $26.70 from Wal-Mart? They’d prosecute your heinie off. They’d put you under the jail.

I guess they were hoping not too many people would look at their receipts. The lady in the story did look at hers, and when she went back to the store, the manager on duty tried to tell her that everything was done properly. I guess for a company that has most of its merchandise made by slave labor in China, stealing money from customers over a “tax holiday” weekend is proper.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lord Waldemart Strikes Again

  1. cancerman says:

    Unfortunately getting an item for the lowest possible price means dealing with workers who are paid the lowest possible price. Brains don’t come cheap.

  2. Sara says:

    I don’t want to proselytize at you politically, at all, but your not infrequent complaints about Waldemart (Love. It.) make me think you’d like the documentary Walmart: the High Cost of Low Prices. I don’t know if your local Blockbuster will have it, but if you do Netflix, they definitely do. I also swear I saw it late one night on PBS a few months ago, so you might catch it on your affiliate if you look hard enough.

  3. RevJATB says:

    Sara, I have wanted to watch this for a long time. Never thought to look for it on Netflix! I will definitely check out the Google video link.

    I can’t claim the term Waldemart. I first saw it on Chewymom’s site. Letterman even used it a few nights ago.

  4. This morning on the way to work I spilled my hot Starbucks Coffee on myself. Instead of contemplating a lawsuit against Starbucks for the spill, my mind turned to where I could get a fresh shirt. It being 6:30 in the morning, the only option near me was Lord Waldemart’s.

    There I was able to purchase a fashionable micro-fiber camp shirt for $9.95. Upon check out the credit card/check pad terminal displays, “Was your salesperson friendly today?” . Being that she did not say a word to me or make eye contact with me, I answered no. At which point she makes contact with me and interjects, ” I was not rude wit chu.” I just said, “No, you weren’t rude, but you should work on making your customers feel welcome with a smile and hello.” She grunted, “You try smiling at 6 in the morning, and making minimum wage.”

    So, I get back to my car. I took off my coffee drenched shirt and placed my new shirt on. I am styling and profiling, when I discover something in the shirt pocket. It contained approximately 20 to 30 sunflower seed shells. Some goon was eating sunflower seeds and disposed of the shells in my shirt pocket!!!

  5. RevJATB says:

    That is just nasty! Did you find any that still had seeds in them? Could’ve been a quick breakfast on your way to work.

  6. It was just shells.

  7. cancerman says:

    I just got the whole Lord Waldemart thing. I guess I’m kind of slow.

Leave a Reply

