Hey thanks!

Thanks to whomever amongst my dear, loyal readers sent me the gift subscription to Cook’s Illustrated for my birthday. The first issue arrived Saturday, and the SmockLady and I are having a great time reading it.

I didn’t get a card in the mail letting me know who sent it (maybe that was intentional?), so I wanted to use this blog as a public way to say thanks.

The SmockLady said it was really good timing, because there is a great recipe in there for homemade gyros, and she has been craving gyros! She bought some plain yogurt at the store today for the tzatziki.

I can’t wait to try the blueberry scones. I think my scones are pretty good, but I’ll bet the Cook’s Illustrated version will be even better.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Food, Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hey thanks!

  1. TimmyRalph says:

    I love tzatziki, especially with naan bread!

  2. karen says:

    Thanks for this post! Our copy of CI has been wedged open to the Summer Fruit Salads since it arrived – without your note, I might never have noticed the gyros on page 12. We made them for dinner tonight and they earned rave reviews all around. I made a slight variation, though. I didn’t have ground lamb, so I processed the onion, lemon juice, oregano, garlic, salt & pepper without the pita pieces and used it as a marinade for small pieces of lamb tenderloin. After marinating about an hour, I cooked the meat with the marinade in an iron skillet briefly until just browned, then drained and used in pitas. If it’s not overcooked, it doesn’t get that bad stir-fry texture and the flavor was great!

Leave a Reply

