Reminisce With Me

Anyone else out there who used to hang out at:

Charlemagne Record Exchange (Southside)?

Wuxtry (Block 60 and later in Cahaba Heights)?

OZ (later Turtle’s) in Eastwood Mall?

Somewhere, I still have a completed book of Turtle’s Trading Stamps.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Fun, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Reminisce With Me

  1. PaulB says:

    Went to OZ at Eastwood Mall a number of times. I remember at one point they condensed the place. The flying monkey who carried your music of choice to the checkout was pretty cool.

  2. RevJATB says:

    Yeah, it was really sad when they cut the store down. They even cut some of the life-size mannequins (like the Scarecrow and Tin Man) in half and put them on shelves. And they got rid of the Flying Monkeys. And then they ceased to be Oz altogether and became Turtle’s. Well, at least they kept the trading stamps . . .

    But you know, Oz never did give nothing to the Tin Man that he didn’t, didn’t already have . . .

  3. TimmyRalph says:

    “And cause never was the reason for the evening, or the Tropic of Sir Galahad.” What the heck does that mean???

    I could use a few flying monkeys.

  4. PaulB says:

    Yeah, but who could forget THIS classic…

  5. PaulB says:

    Oop. Here’s the link…

  6. cancerman says:

    I never shopped at OZ as I only bought Christian music (Larry Norman or Phil Keaggy anyone?) at the time. However, I’ve been to the WUXTRY’s in Athens were legend has it Pete Buck and Micheal Stipe first met.

    Speaking of Horse with No Name, I also saw Dan Peek of America do a Christian concert in Athens. (It was terrible.)

  7. steve malone says:

    hey banksons. I was leaning on this bar the other night, and there was this gray bearded older gentleman in shorts next to me.

    It was stephen stills.

    So, that was cool.

    By the way, hello banksons.

  8. RevJATB says:

    Hey Steve! We’re all in B’ham right now. Check your e-mail.

  9. cancerman says:

    What is it about B’ham that keeps drawing you guys back?

  10. Gay Jones says:

    The fireworks on the 4th of July are always a reason to be in Birmingham, as well as Lloyds Restaurant, and the beautiful view from the mountains. Tell your folks and brother’s family Hi from us. Do you see your cousins the Denards very often? Have a grat visit.

  11. RevJATB says:

    Cancerman, one day you snooty Atlanta types will realize that there is much to be said for a city where it doesn’t take 90 minutes to get anywhere and where people can actually afford to go and do stuff. 🙂

  12. Gay Jones says:

    I agree. I lived there for 10 years and I laugh when people here think there is too much traffic on Hwy. 280. People here think 3 cars at a red light is a traffic jam. I drove over 1 hour each way in Atlanta to go about 20 miles. Here it is nothing. The stress is less. I do miss some of the activities like the FOX but no much more.

  13. PaulB says:

    Who is Stephen Stills?

    I can give you two reasons I keep coming back to the ‘ham:

    1. Mother aka Grandma
    2. Daddy aka Grandaddy

    A close third is Krispy Kreme with “hot donuts now”.

  14. cancerman says:

    I assume Stephen Stills is from Crosby, Stills, and Nash (and sometimes Young).

    I don’t think anybody likes Atlanta. They like the jobs that come with Atlanta.

  15. PaulB says:

    Cancerman: You’re right about Stills. My brother had to set me straight .

Leave a Reply

