Speaking of Transcendent . . .

You also owe it to yourself to hear as much as you can of the music of Laurel Mass?, who happens to be a blogger herself. I hope I don’t embarrass her by praising her gifts so much, but Scripture enjoins us to think on those things that are praiseworthy (Phil. 4:8), and Laurel’s voice is just that: praiseworthy.

If someone asked me to design the perfect jazz singer, I’d start with a range of four to five octaves. I’d add impeccable control of pitch and breath, the nimble-tongued ability to sing bebop, and a flair for improvised scat singing. I’d build in a poet’s sense of phrasing, a critic’s taste in tunes, and the soul of an actress. Or, I would just call Laurel Mass?.

Neil Tesser, The Reader

Some singers are technically flawless but leave something to be desired in the emotion department. Others are such good story-tellers, we forgive their lapses in technique. Laurel Mass? does not disappoint in either department.

Oh, and are you in luck! Laurel’s web site has been fully updated, with lots of audio clips for your listening pleasure. You can also order her CDs via the site. (For those of you in a generous mood, I have never replaced my LP copies of “Alone Together” or “Easy Living” with their CD versions, so there you go.)

Of course, Laurel’s blog is on the blogroll to your right, and it is a delight as well. Right now she’s giving her readers the play-by-play as she reads through the Bible. Wonderful stuff. I know the word “blessed” is thrown around entirely too much these days, but I am truly blessed to know her. You need to get to know her too.

If you listen to tracks such as “Ding, Dong! The Witch is Dead” or “Alone Together”, that’s Laurel singing all the parts. She has a four-octave range (or is it five? Correct me if I shorted you an octave, Laurel). Oh, and did I mention you could purchase her CDs through the site? She is an artist deserving of all the support you can give her.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

