What’s right is not always popular . . .

. . . and what’s popular is not always right.

I heard a lot of self-congratulatory gloating today. I heard a lot of people fondly reliving one person’s “zinger” of a comment that was at the same time libelous and extremely misleading.

I’m not what you would call an “FV advocate” (apologies to my many readers who are not in this particular intramural debate. Just count your blessings that you are not, and stay tuned for my next post, which will definitely not be on this same subject), but I know a little something about being accused of something and never getting to have your say.

Let’s get something straight: no one in today’s discussion has ever denied justification by faith. Not one of them. Just because a famous retired pastor or a famous author says they have does not make it so. Just because people keep repeating the same misinformation does not make it true.

If you want to know what someone believes, just ask him. I have asked them. I’ve talked to four of these notorious individuals myself. I do not recognize them in the report we heard today. I’m sure they don’t recognize themselves.

We need mature, reasoned, charitable discussions of such matters, not theological one-liners.

“In the meadow we can build a straw man . . .”

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Bible, Church, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What’s right is not always popular . . .

  1. tom says:

    I’m not a FV advocate or adherent, attend what could pass as a “liberal” church in the PCA (if there can even be such a thing), and I still found today’s GA events to be shocking and uncharitable.

  2. Pingback: philosomatic

  3. cancerman says:

    But if they don’t express themselves in the exact formula I memorized in seminary they have to be wrong, right?

  4. Rae says:

    Exactly.

  5. Tim Lien says:

    Excellent post.
    I, along with 90-or-so other people held up a blue card trying to defeat this. (And I am sure there were 90-or-so different reasons for doing so)
    I was talking with some friends last night over some chilled bottles *trying* to explain that celebrity should mean nothing to us. Only responsible exegetical arguments should win any day– not cute, and hurtful grandstanding. (Especially, if the issue is so grave as its detractors say)
    On the recomendations: we *already* have a system where a man must notify his presbytery of exceptions to the WCF.
    I like what you propose: maturity, charity. Fancy that…

  6. cancerman says:

    What really gets me about this odium theologicum is that its not good vs evil or right vs wrong. It’s essentially Auburn vs Alabama, which I know can be very passionate. But still, take a deep breath and calm down.

  7. ChuckM says:

    In the beginning, I had tried to keep up with the debate. I even read Norm Shepherd’s book. Soon after, I realized two things. First, I’m not enough of a theologian to sufficiently parse real issues from the sibboleth’s at play. Second, very little of what I have understood of the debate has had any effect on how I live.

  8. RevJATB says:

    Thus making it the perfect subject of controversy!

  9. Pingback: links for 2007-06-20 at Mark Horne

Leave a Reply

