Pay for six, get only five? What a deal!!!

“That’s how they get ya.” That’s something we say ’round here a lot. I’ll admit it: I’m easily amused sometimes, and it really amuses me to find ways that retailers “try to get ya” to pay more for something than you should. There must be a lot of people who fall for this sort of thing, because retailers do it all the time.

Case in point: just got back from the store. I was buying (among other things) some Kraft Macaroni and Cheese (don’t be hatin’: my eleven-year-old can make it all by herself). 60 cents a box (that’s for the regular, 7.25-ounce size). Everyone with me so far? 60 cents. Right. OK, down the shelf from that is the “Family Size” Box, which is exactly twice as much product as the regular size (14.5 ounces). The price? $1.98. Wow! What a savings! I was not at Wal-Mart, but Wal-Mart does this sort of stuff all the time. (For example, the largest-sized jar of peanut butter at Waldemart is almost never the best buy. Check that unit pricing.)

The macaroni and cheese saga does not end there. Also on the shelf were some “specially-priced” boxes of Kraft Macaroni and Cheese. These were the 7.25-ounce boxes, but they were sold in groups of five, shrink-wrapped together. The “special price” for 5 boxes? $3.28. But that’s not all, no no, that’s not all. There was a sign over them that said, “Special Price! SAVE $.41!” Huh? Turns out the regular price for the shrink-wrapped set is $3.69, which is like paying for a whole box and leaving it at the store, plus giving the store an extra nine cents just for the heck of it.

“Surely no one is gullible to fall for this,” I thought to myself. Then I remembered this post by Chewymom.

Of course, I bought five, non-shrink-wrapped boxes and paid $3.00 for them. I’m not going to pay $.28 (much less $.69) for some shrink wrap that I’m just going to throw away anyway.

That’s how they (at least try to) get ya.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Fun, Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pay for six, get only five? What a deal!!!

  1. Cancerman says:

    I had to visit the beast last night. Between the horrible parking deck, inhumane flourescent lighting and the whole 30 checkout lanes but only 3 are open experience, I think they stole some of my soul.

  2. RevJATB says:

    Yeah, remember back when they used to have those TV ads that said, “If we see three people waiting in line, we’ll open up another lane”?

    I think that was around the same time they were displaying all those “Proudly Made in the USA” signs. Alas, both have long since gone by the wayside.

  3. karen says:

    I’ve been a unit-price-checking gal forever and have recently been joined in this particular insanity by my husband. Our stores have the same sorts of delightful treasures as you describe plus an added feature: many times, the unit price of a product will be given in differnt units for different sized packages! One size will be listed per ounce, another per pint. Per piece vs. per pound. Frustrating!

  4. Sara says:

    mmm, I get cravings for Kraft Mac & Cheese. Though, to be honest, any store brand’ll do. And no, the Annie’s Organic is just not the same.

    I think I will have some next time my roommate (who would look upon my visage with HORROR if I suggested boxed Mac & Cheese for dinner) goes out for the evening.

Leave a Reply

