Idol Update

Well, only four of you got your votes in by the deadline for the AI Superfecta. Good luck to you all!

Well, after last night, I have to agree with Simon. Blake and LaKisha are very vulnerable right now. But I think that Blake is more likely to go home. We’ll have to wait and see tonight: some of the teen fan base that was behind Sanjaya and then Chris R. may have switched to Blake, and that may save him. But I have to agree with Randy’s assessment last night: just because Blake can do the beatbox thing doesn’t mean he should do it on every single song he does! It is wearing a little thin. And his song choice didn’t help much, especially on that second one (not one of Barry Gibb’s finest songs, I don’t think).

I was surprised at a lot of the song choices. I think LaKisha should have chosen “The Love Inside”. That would have been a showstopper. And Melinda could have done a great job with “Guilty.” And why did no one do “Nights on Broadway” or “Jive Talkin'”?

Any other Barry Gibb songs you would like to have heard last night?

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Idol Update

  1. Mark says:

    What is up with Barry Gibb’s mouth? It didn’t move all the way. With the hair and the mouth he looked like he was going to be in the next Planet of the Apes movie. He scared me.

  2. Mandi says:

    That is hilarous! I thought that too about his mouth. It made him sound very Sean Connery!

  3. RevJATB says:

    I wondered if he had had extensive dental work lately or something. I certainly don’t remember him sounding like that, and I don’t remember the puffy face either. I do remember that when they were young, all the Bee Gees (and Andy Gibb too) needed some serious orthodontia. Maybe now that he’s made a ton of money he’s finally getting his mouth worked on.

  4. Sara says:

    much respect to all of you, but after reading this post i am SO happy i don’t have cable and the rabbit ears are not partial to FOX. mediocre modern pop stars + the beegees + self-righteous british windbag + paula abdul = *shudder*

  5. Morris says:

    OK, so I’m too late to prognosticate (I just love that word) about who’s going home. The one song I would like to have heard was “I Started a Joke”. I’m not sure who would have sung it best. Melinda wouldn’t have touched it.

    Up until now, Blake’s musical intelligence has kept me interested. I love the way he doesn’t just do “cover” versions of songs. On the other hand (you have different fingers) I can’t figure out why someone so creative and apparently musically astute doesn’t see when beatboxing just doesn’t fit.

    I was disappointed with Blake Tuesday night. I expected LaKisha to have trouble. I was glad to see Jordin back on her game.

    Some say Idol has gotten boring, including my sons (ages 16 and almost 13). I can’t watch on Wednesday nights (usually get home around 10 from church … last night it was 10:45). We record it on the DVR, though, but I do find the Wednesday night airing somewhat uncompelling to watch. With the remaining 3, I think the finish is going to be quite interesting … especially if Blake loses the urge to beatbox everything.

    Man … do I ever need to get a life!

  6. Mark says:

    http://www.tmz.com/2007/05/10/the-bee-cees/

    American Idol- So easy a cavemen can do it.

  7. WonderGirl says:

    Smocklady- this is for you! I am unable to comment on your blog because half of the screen is cut off. I can only read your entries through my RSS feed reader. I only have this prob with your page, so I don’t know if it’s me or you– but I’ve been dying to comment! Can you send me your email address so I can write ya?

  8. WonderGirl says:

    Oh, and sorry Rev, for going off subject.

  9. RevJATB says:

    Hey WG, no problem.

    She wanted me to let you know that she’s working on that issue. Apparently anyone who has IE 5 or IE 6 has the same problem. She’s troubleshooting it as we speak.

    Anyhoo, I think I’ve got your address in my book and I’ll pass it along to her. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

