What makes a good day?

Today at the restaurant, I had an intellegent conversation with one of the cooks (who is a percussionist) about Miles Davis.

Discussing Miles is a very, very good thing. Almost as good as listening to Miles.

That alone made it a good day.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What makes a good day?

  1. TimmyRalph says:

    I love Miles Davis. I contend that John Coltrane’s best stuff was when he played with Miles (yes, I do own “A Love Supreme”). Maybe that’s jazz blasphemy, but I’m sating it anyway!

  2. RevJATB says:

    I don’t think that’s jazz blasphemy. “Kind of Blue” is one of my favorite albums ever.

  3. TimmyRalph says:

    I think “Kind of Blue” is probably the best jazz album ever. I also like Dave Brubeck’s “Time Out”. My favourite compilation is Stan Getz, “Getz Plays Jobim: The Girl From Ipanema”. It is truly an escape to another place – a sunny place, with no grey skies and drizzly rain!!!

  4. RevJATB says:

    Oh yeah. Time Out is a great one. I love “Kathy’s Waltz.” And I’m with you on Stan Getz too.

    Have you ever listened to Richie Cole? If you like Stan Getz, Richie Cole is worth a listen.

  5. cancerman says:

    Okay you two. You’ve got me looking up Miles Davis on Itunes.

  6. Vrouw_Jonker says:

    I think this is really cool. Perhaps you could replay the conversation for us. I’m happy for you both that you each found one of the few people in the Ark-La-Miss-Tex who can speak knowledgeably about Miles Davis.

Leave a Reply

