Who’s next?

Let me say (and I should have said this last week) that I was quite happy to see Sundance go. That boy had overstayed his welcome, big time. Just a-hollerin’. That’s not singing. That’s what we call “bellerin'”. Anybody can holler. This is about singing.

Which is why I think this might be Sanjaya’s time to go. He just can’t seem to connect his voice to his breath. What’s so weird is, at the auditions his voice was much stronger than it is now! Every week he’s been all breathy. But, he’s got the teeny-bopper vote behind him. Sanjaya was born for the cover of Tiger Beat magazine. (Remember, Leif Garrett had far less talent that Sanjaya does!) Depending on how many 12-year-old girls were tying up the phone lines last night, Sanjaya may still be in it. But, in all fairness, I think it should be his time to go.

Other people I’m tired of:

Chris Richardson – I know a lot of women think he’s cute, and I guess that’s how he’s stayed on. But I find him annoying. Especially when he tried to affect some kind of hip-hop vibe, when deep down he’s so country. That’s a mix that doesn’t work.

Blake – At least he wasn’t making noises with his mouth last night. Hey, Blake, Popeye called. He wants his face back.

Phil Stacy – That guy gives me the serious CREEPS! Do they do background checks on this show? I’m sure I saw him on America’s Most Wanted.

OK, I’m not tired of him (yet), but Chris Sligh needs to put the glasses back on and get his old hairstyle back. He looked like a sheep last night. He looked like Juan “Sheephead” Epstein from “Welcome Back, Kotter”.

A woman is going to win this time. The guys are just not that good. None of them.

My money is on either LaKisha or Melinda. I wish they both could win.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Fun, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Who’s next?

  1. WonderGirl says:

    This is a weird season. I’m bored, but addicted. I think you’re right though, L or M will win. The boys are Los Stinkos this go round.

  2. John says:

    I would have said that Sanjaya’s time to go was several weeks back and the longer he stays on the more of a problem there is with American Idol.

    That is, it honestly doesn’t seem to me that so many people could really seriously think that he’s a great singer, and if he’s still on it must mean that there’s either (a) a problem with the voting mechanism, namely, that enough people can “Vote for the Worst” so that good singers go home and bad ones stay or (b) the American public, taken as a whole, is a musical idiot. Probably both.

    I have to admit, though, that out of all the guys Blake is my favorite, and I kinda like the beatboxing. It’s more interesting that anything the other guys are doing.

    Of the girls, LaKisha and Melinda are in a league of their own. Going from them to any of the other performers is like going from a professional concert to a mere talent show. They have what the other singers don’t: control.

    That said, I do like Stephanie and Jordin. I strongly dislike Chris Richardson, who appears to have talent enough to hit the notes but who sings all the time with a nasal voice that drives me nuts.

    They could all go home, for all I care. Just leave me Melinda and LaKisha. If either of them goes home before the last show, it’ll confirm in my mind that the American voting public, collectively, has no taste.

  3. ChuckM says:

    Completely off topic (especially since we don’t watch Idol), but I found a website you’d like. A guy from the Dave Ramsey forums that I’ve chatted with…
    http://www.nsethnelson.com/index.html

  4. RevJATB says:

    Wow! Of the bottom three tonight, the ONE that I wanted to stay (Brandon) was the one to go! I wanted either Phil or Sanjaya to go bye-bye, but not Brandon. Not yet.

    I’m telling you, John, Sanjaya has the Tiger Beat vote. But his days are numbered.

  5. MoDrig3 says:

    Though I have avoided spouting off about AI on my own blog, I will gladly do so on someone else’s (especially since you brought it up). While he seems to be as likeable a kid as ever there was, I agree that Sanjaya is not likely to last much longer.

    The lovely wife told me last night that when they announced who was going home, Sanjaya returned to the chairs looking like he knew his days were numbered. He’s a nice kid, a sweet kid, and eye candy for the teenage girls (and Paula) … but as Simon keeps reminding us, AI is a singing competition. Even though I’d love to have a dozen guys as talented as Sanjaya in my youth choir, the other singers are head and shoulders above him.

    I will reserve my comments about the other guys (except that I like Blake). On Tuesday night, Melinda edged out LaKisha as my front-runner. LaKisha is awesome and still one of my faves, but Melinda makes be believe.

  6. cancerman says:

    Are you talking American Idol?

  7. Vrouw_Jonker says:

    I wonder if LaKisha’s related to Keisha?

  8. RevJATB says:

    Absolutely not.

Leave a Reply

