Random childhood memory

Stolen HeavenI came across a picture of some “Stolen Heaven” on the web.  Reminded me of going to Loveman’s downtown with my mom and getting that same confection at the candy counter.  That, in turn, reminded me of eating egg salad sandwiches (on toast, of course) at the little tea room on the mezzanine of said department store.

Loveman's Mezzanine (Here is the view from the mezzanine, circa 1969.)
Alas, no more Loveman’s.  No more candy counter.  No more tea room either.

Maybe I can make some Stolen Heaven and relive the experience.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random childhood memory

  1. I remember my childhood best friend Fred and I having paper routes that each ended at the local 7-11. We’d meet there after throwing the afternoon paper, each buy a Sioux City Sarsparilla and a Slim Jim, down them as quickly as possible, then have belching contests. Good times…

Leave a Reply

