Allen Pote

I really like the music of Allen Pote.

One of my favorite pieces of his is the anthem entitled “The Journey is Our Home.” I don’t have the music to put on the blog, but here’s the text. (If you have a choir and you don’t have this piece, get it. It’s published by Hinshaw.)

Awake, arise, the journey’s begun.
We travel on together as one.
We know not where the road will lead,
but we move in faith, making love our creed as we follow;
The journey is our home.

Good trav’lers walk with company,
sharing bread with those in need.
Giving help along the way to those who fall,
who wander astray as we follow;
The journey is our home.

Join with us in jubilee.
Celebrate God’s family.
Sing together joyfully.
Alleluia. Alleluia. Alleluia.
Praise for evermore!

God moves with us as we go.
He hears our cry, our pain He knows.
Yet far beyond the setting sun,
there shines a light of a victory won;
The journey, the journey is our home.

Join with us in jubilee.
Celebrate God’s family.
Sing together joyfully.
Alleluia, Alleluia, Alleluia,
Praise for evermore
.

One day, when we have a choir once again at JKPC, they will sing this anthem. Often. (Seriously, if everyone would take me up on this “tell 3.5 people about Jesus this week” thing, we’d have plenty o’ people for a boffo choir by Christmas Eve. Not that we’d sing “The Journey is Our Home” for Christmas Eve. But I digress.)

Allen Pote, in addition to writing lots o’ great anthems for choirs, has written quite a number of youth musicals that are very good too, such as “Malice in the Palace” (based on the story of Esther).

I really like Allen Pote.

I wish the people who did Taco Bell commercials liked Allen Pote too. Then they might remember how to pronounce “chipotle.” I know we’ve been over this before, but back then, it was because people were saying “chipolte” instead of “chipotle”. Now, (at least in the case of the Taco Bell people) they’re putting the “L” in both places and saying “chipoltle.”

Taco Bell, think of Allen Pote. Pote. Pote. Chi-POTE-lay.

Now, that’s not so difficult, is it? 🙂

Allen Pote has written some nice choral music for the church. Coming soon: more favorite church music composers and favorite anthems.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Church, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Allen Pote

  1. Brad B says:

    OOH!! I really like Allen Pote a lot too!! During my stint as a Methodist, I was really active in youth choir, and we sang a whole lot of his music. “Many Gifts, One Spirit” would probably move me to tears if I were to hear it today. “Prepare the Royal Highway” was another favorite…and “People of God, Rejoice!” Needless to say, he was a fave of my choir director as well.

    When I was 13, we had Allen Pote come lead a workshop for our youth choir, and he conducted us for our performance of what was something of a compilation/musical of sorts. I actually rode with my director to pick him up at the airport in Baton Rouge and we took him to supper…really engaging guy.

    WOW, JATB, all this good music! I’m still working on the St. Louis Jesuits Mass…

  2. RevJATB says:

    Wow! Brad has had a Brush with Choral Greatness!

    My big Brush with Choral Greatness is K. Lee Scott, which I guess is more than a brush, since I got to work with him for so many years.

    I did have two other Brushes with Choral Greatness, both in high school. One was Gregg Smith, who did a summer choral workshop in B’ham. He was really good and I learned a lot from him. But he did have that conductor’s combover thing happening, which was made even more comical by his use of Vitalis. When he would really get into conducting, his combover would kind of slide off and he’d have REALLY long hair on one side. Sort of like half Crystal Gayle, half bald guy.

    The other was Norman Luboff, who was more of a Brush with Choral Grossness. What a crotchety man. He could have used a Sonicare too. And some Tic Tacs.

    Thinking about those summer choral workshops in high school (and I participated in many of them), the clinician from whom I probably learned the most was Tommy Smith from Auburn. What a dynamo he was. Now that I think about it, he’s the one who first introduced me to Pote’s “The Journey is Our Home.”

  3. Cancerman says:

    We did a Pote song (or actually the choir did) today. It was quite pleasing.

  4. Vrouw_Jonker says:

    Ooh. I had a brush with His Choral Greatness, Norman Luboff, also! about 30 years ago. Our little high school choir used to participate biennially at a choral festival put on by Oklahoma State University, in which we sang in the fieldhouse with dozens of other little high school choirs from around the state, culminating with “Hallelujah” Handel. And one year, old Norman was our guest conductor/director. We sang a couple of his compositions or adaptations or interpretations, one being, as I recall, “I Ain’t Gonna Study War No More” (Gonna lay down my sword and shield, down by the riverside…”). I didn’t get close enough to detect any need for improved oral hygeine. Thankfully.

Leave a Reply

