World Communion Sunday Resources

People often ask me, “Where do you find this stuff?”  They might be talking about the hymns/songs we sing on Sunday, a particular book I mention, or, as in the case of today’s service, a resource from breads from around the world.

In short, I keep my eyes and ears open all the time, and I never discount a source.  Some of the best materials come from some of the more unlikely sources.

Example:  Music.  Here are the hymnals I consult regularly (as in every week, no exceptions):  Trinity Hymnal (1990, PCA/OPC), Rejoice in the Lord (RCA), Psalter Hymnal (1987, CRC), The Hymnbook (1955, published jointly by pretty much every Presbyterian/Reformed denomination in existence at the time), The Hymnal (1982, ECUSA), Baptist Hymnal (1975, but I wish I had the 1991 one too), and The Worshiping Church (1990, Hope Publishing Company).  There are others that I consult at least monthly, including Gather: Comprehensive (GIA Publications), Lutheran Worship (1982, LCMS), The Lutheran Hymnal (1941, LCMS), Lutheran Book of Worship (1978), The Moravian Hymnal (1969), Hymns for the Living Church (1974, Hope Publishing Company), and The Australian Hymn Book (1977).

The only reason the Presbyterian Hymnal:  Hymns, Psalms, and Spiritual Songs (1990) is not on the above list is that I don’t have a copy, but I really, really wish I did.  (Was that a brazen enough hint for my dear readers?)

Now, what about those bread recipes for today?  Most of them came from a series of pamphlets called “Breads Around the World.” There are six pamphlets in all:  Middle East, Caribbean, Chile, India, China, and Africa.  Each pamphlet contains 2-3 bread recipes from that country or region, plus a lot of information about what life is like in those countries and how Christians are ministering to the people of those areas.  Each one also contains a Communion liturgy drawn from the worship of the indigenous peoples represented in the pamphlet.

“Breads Around the World” is a great resource not only for World Communion Sunday, but also for world hunger emphases such as OGHSWeek of Compassion, or Love Loaf (which we are doing right now), or for mission conferences, Sunday School, VBS, etc.

The “Breads Around the World” pamphlets were prepared by Global Ministries, a cooperative venture of the United Church of Christ and the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ).  If you’d like to get copies of “Breads Around the World”, click on the Global Ministries link and scroll down to the bottom of the page, where you’ll find the telephone number to order this great resource.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to World Communion Sunday Resources

  1. Vrouw_Jonker says:

    Please dig into those Lutheran hymnals and see if you can locate “Rise Again, Ye Lionhearted” for us to sing on or around All Saints Day.

  2. Charles R says:

    Vrouw Jonker, if I’m not mistaken, I gave a copy of that great hymn to RevJATB.

    Another great resource (probably much like your copy 1982 ECUSA hymnal) is the 1940 Hynmnal of the Protestant Episcopal Church with Supplemental Liturgical Index and Collection of Service Music (1961). We are just beginning to use this in our worship at Christ the King Reformed Episcopal Church.

    BTW, Amanda and I just started a choir and at our first rehearsal we worked on a setting of the Gloria in excelsis with the tune name of Old Scottish Chant. We sing this every Sunday after Holy Communion. What fun!

    BTW2, I made your recipe for Eucharistic Bread to serve at our potluck after church in hopes that we could persuade the pastor to consider using something like it. We currently use styrofoam, mmmmm!

  3. John says:

    Is there one license you have which allows you to copy songs from all of these books or did you have to get a bunch of license? Or, as I’ve done in the past, did you write to the publishers for permission?

    I’d love to be able to use songs from a bunch of different hymnals like this, but I was just afraid the cost for licensing might be prohibitive.

  4. RevJATB says:

    I do the write for permission route. Actually sometimes all it takes is a call, and sometimes they ask you to fax your request in.

    If there’s a charge to use the song, I don’t do it.

    Long, long, ago, at another church, we had a CCLI license, but invariably the songs we wanted to get permission to use were not covered by CCLI. Now, GIA has something called One License that looks like it would be much better suited to our purposes.

  5. RevJATB says:

    And John, so many hymns in hymnals are PD (at least the ones we old fogeys can sing!). Many of these are the ones that I cannot for the life of me fathom why they were left out of the Trinity Hymnal, while some real schlock made the cut.

  6. RevJATB says:

    Charles,

    Give them a try on the William Mathias setting of the Gloria that we used here at JKPC. I’m sure they’ll have fun singing it.

  7. Vrouw_Jonker says:

    Hi, Charles!

Leave a Reply

