If you’re into that sort of thing . . .

The events of the last post, needless to say, overshadowed many other events today.

Still, there are those of you who want to know these sorts of things, just as I want to know these sorts of things about your services, so here goes:

Hymns for World Communion Sunday, 2006

Opening Hymn:  “In Christ There is No East or West”.  Text:  William A. Dunkerley (pseud. John Oxenham), 1908.  Tune:  McKEE (African-American Spiritual).

Metrical Psalm:  Psalm 124 (The Psalter, 1912).  Tune:  OLD 124TH (Louis Bourgeois).

Communion Hymn:  “God is Love, and Where True Love Is”.  Text:  James Quinn (b. 1919).  Tune:  UBI CARITAS (Murray).

Song During the Sharing of the Bread and Wine:  “Jesu, Jesu, Fill Us With Your Love”.  Text:  Tom Colvin, 1969.  Tune:  CHEREPONI (Ghana Folk Song, arr. Tom Colvin).

Closing Hymn:  “Blest Be the Tie That Binds”.  Text:  John Fawcett, 1782.  Tune:  DENNIS (Hans Nägeli).

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Church, Liturgy, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If you’re into that sort of thing . . .

  1. Vrouw_Jonker says:

    I wonder, do the Bourgeoisie know that we were singing his Uncle Louie’s hymn?

  2. Brad B says:

    Yes, Bourgeoisie (or at least this Bourgeois) notices when the Geneva Psalter is used, and sometimes my mind will wander to wonder about some kind of Reformed heritage…as it stands now most of my family wants me to come back to “The Church.”

    Speaking of “The Church,” next year we should sing “One Bread, One Body.” That one always moved me. I love it. Did I put a stickie on it in your Gather Comprehensive?

  3. Ashwee says:

    I especially loved “Jesu, Jesu, Fill Us with Your Love”. I hope we see a lot more of that insert.

  4. RevJATB says:

    Yes, I’ve liked that ever since my choir director at Mountain Brook Presbyterian in Birmingham, Dr. Bugg, introduced me to that. Let’s see, that would have been probably 1985.

    St. Andrew’s in Jackson used to sing it on Maundy Thursday during the washing of feet.

Leave a Reply

