Reformed Liturgical Institute

I’ve been asked (and have agreed) to begin contributing to  a new blog entitled Reformed Liturgical Institute, which should prove to be a great resource for all things related to worship in the Reformed tradition.  I have not posted anything so far (still trying to come up with that boffo first post!), but there is a lot of stuff on there already.  So go check it out, and tell ’em RevJATB sent you.  (For each referral, I get a free car wash.)

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Liturgy. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Reformed Liturgical Institute

  1. PaulB says:

    Sounds great. Let us know when the first post goes up.

  2. Vrouw_Jonker says:

    Verrrry interresting. You could contribute to the “Sample Liturgies”, right?

  3. Brad says:

    Exciting!! Looks like a cool blog! Is Gregory Soderberg from North Carolina and acquainted with Matt Harper, and has a son named Athanasius? I’m trying to remember the Soderbergs’ first names – hard to forget Athanasius – but we sat with them at the Harpers’ wedding reception, and 6-month-old Stephen had a great time with 4-month-old Athanasius. They happened to have had on matching clothes.

    This is, of course, all completely random and superfluous if this is not the Soderberg I’m remembering.

  4. Sara says:

    Athanasius?

    you have got to be kidding me.

    today i was in the park and some mommy was calling, “Elias! No! Don’t hurt the nice doggy!”

    and I was thinking, “wow, Elias. i bet Elias is like, the new Jason now…”

    but Athanasius??? what would you even go by?

    sorry for the digression.

  5. RevJATB says:

    Hehe. Nice digression, though, Sara.

    When I was in seminary, we used to joke about all the students who seemed to think it obligatory to give their kids “Bible names”, but still they didn’t want their children to have names that everyone else had, so they’d end up naming them things like Lamemtations and Second Thessalonians.

    There are so many interesting Saint names that don’t get used much anymore. Like Hilda (Abbess of Whitby). Or Alban. Or what about Bede (the Venerable)? That’s a neat name.

  6. Vrouw_Jonker says:

    The Venerable is one of our faves. Boffo name.

  7. RevJATB says:

    Yes, how come there’s no “Venerable Bede Jonker” over there in S’port?

  8. Mo says:

    Free car wash with every referral??? I get a free car wash every time it rains!

    I think I’ll name my next kid Zerubbabel.

    We chose to go with family names … although the younger one happened to be biblical, too.

    Had an acquaintance in seminary who named all 4 kids musical terms beginning with T. I can’t imagine how many times a couple of the kids have to explain how to spell and/or pronounce their names. To top it off, the last name is one that has to be spelled all the time as well.

  9. Vrouw_Jonker says:

    Well, that was next on the list…
    **lies to pastor again**

  10. Hi, Brad:

    Yep the very same Soderbergs. And to answer Sara’s question, we call him “Athanasius”. We happen to think taking dominion over the world applies to names as well. It’s been remarkable how many times we’ve been able to share our Christianity because people do a double-take with our boys’s names 🙂 Once upon a time, the world was changed when God named someone “Sara” … Naming is a powerful act of dominion.

  11. Oh, just to let you know what other names our taken. Athanasius’s middle name is Buchan (after John Buchan the Scottish Presbyterian novelist), Boy #2 is Chester Chrystostom (“Sossy” for short, and Boy #3 is Lewis Melanchthon Eusebius. We call him Lewis, because even our devotion to the historical church has limits. There, now you can all feel more normal 🙂

  12. Brad says:

    Not kiddin’ Sara…I’d call him Thane or something. I like groovy-sounding Latin names…call me crazy, but when the name was first introduced to my knowledge by none other than Dr. Feske, I really thought the name Vespasian (as in Roman emperor) was cool.

    I have another friend who has a son named Theophilus, and he goes by Theo for short.

  13. derorgelmeister says:

    Greg: Athanasius Buchan, Chester Chrystostom, and Lewis Melanchthon Eusebius? Those are excellent names! I’m gonna have to dig around church history for some comparable names for my children…But I pity them if they ever take part in public Kindergarten.

    “Alright, class. Today we’re going to learn how to write our names.” That would be a great experience. 😀

  14. Vrouw_Jonker says:

    Wilson Benton’s OB son once delivered a “Shekinah Glory”.
    Good for you, Greg. Sure enough, the slightly unusual Jonker names become boring next to the spectacularity of your nomenclature.

  15. Thanks, Vrouw:

    I don’t mean to pry, but are you by any chance South African? I’m doing my master’s through the University of Pretoria, and have enjoyed the names down there!

    Dr. Peter Leithart was creating a chiasm with the first initials of his children’s names (8 when I was in college), quite by accident, if I remember rightly.

  16. vrouw_jonker says:

    No, but of course, the South Afrikaan Boers had Dutch roots, of which most of my family is ethnically derived. Like all of my husband and 1/2 of each child.

  17. Sara says:

    i don’t think this sort of thing is limited to the seminarian set, at all. i can’t think of a single seminary grad in my social circle, and yet, oy, the names they give their children.

    for instance, one of my coworkers has a son and daughter named Bodhi and Ananda. another just had a little girl called Vanya. Yes, after the play.

    personally, i’m probably headed for the film/literary version of all this, perhaps Vincent, Djuna, and/or Alvy. i’m tempted to go for, like, Vincent and Theo or Dora and Pablo. i also like old cajun/creole names like Clothilde, Theophile, Alcee, Berthe, etc.

  18. I’m related to Theophiles, Mathildes, and Clothildes, Pierres, and Denis(es)!! But one would expect that, given my surname and where I’m from, no?

    As far as Church fathers go – Adrienne and I have discussed Augustine before…and I’m somewhat partial to Anselm, too.

    Vrouw – a dear friend of Adrienne’s family has five or six children, and I know for a fact that one daughter is “Maranatha” and one is “Shekinah” (goes by “Kinah” for short) I thought those were beautiful.

    This power to beget and name children – to take great part in shaping an identity and things to which this identity will assume and respond is somewhat unnerving! That’s what kept us with “Stephen” and “Alexis.”

    Adrienne really liked “Agatha.” I thought it was pretty old-ish, but the straw that broke the camel’s back with “Agatha” came when I researched St. Agatha and why she’s the patron saint of bell-ringers. Research it yourselves for a bit of macabre Church history.

    I like some strange Hebrew female names, too, when we’ve met enough Sarahs, Hannahs, Rebekahs, and Abigails – I like Rizpah, Tirzah, Hadassah, Keturah, Zipporah, Salome, and Athaliah even though she was wicked.

    Greg – good to “see” you again! Wow, congrats on Sossy and Lewis!

  19. Vrouw_Jonker says:

    I know of a Sarah Hadassah. Love it.
    And we have a little friend named Talitha (“TaLEEtha”).
    Come on, RJATB: Share the names. I’m itching to tell. They’re so perfect.

  20. Sara says:

    remember Keturah from LA school, brad?

    oh, i could go on and on with the names i like. it’s funny how much the shape our characters.

  21. yeah, I meant to insert a parenthetical about Keturah Cummings…she was really neato.

  22. RevJATB says:

    OK wait, back to Morris’s comment:

    I’ll take “Musical terms beginning with T” for $500, Alex.

    Tempo? Timbre? Tutti? Trill?

  23. Vrouw_Jonker says:

    Ja, I’ll admit to googling Musical Terms and checking out the “T”‘s, too.

  24. Gay Jones says:

    Do you all want your children to grow up hating you for their name? Of course two of my children go by the nickname of their middle name and they hate that. My grandchildren are Emma L’Abri, Eliot Benson, and Daniel McCheyne. Good names that they can a least spell. By the way, John, what church do you serve. Thanks. Gay

  25. RevJATB says:

    Like Morris, we’ve given all our children family names. Heck, they’ll have enough trouble with people getting their last name correct without us naming them Farina, Mylanta, Algebra, or Karma-Karma-Karma-Karma-Karma-Chameleon.

    Gay, I’m at John Knox Presbyterian Church (PCA) in Ruston, Louisiana.

Leave a Reply

