There’s a difference, people!

There’s Southern, there’s Redneck, and there’s White Trash. The three are not synonymous, altuough there are points of convergence:

Not all Southerners are Rednecks and/or White Trash. Not all Rednecks are Southern and/or White Trash. Not all White Trash people are Southern and/or Redneck.

People need to know the difference.

Mark is doing the world a great service on his blog right now by highlighting White Trash Cooking. This can serve as a good example for us all.

Southern: Bread Pudding with Jack Daniels Sauce
Redneck: Skip the bread pudding, drink the Jack Daniels Sauce
White Trash: Krispy Kreme Doughnut Bread Pudding à la Paula Deen

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to There’s a difference, people!

  1. Mark says:

    I think you adequately pointed out the difference. It was high time someone pointed out concrete examples of these labels.

  2. Mark says:

    John,

    What about this recipe?
    Pepto Bismol Ice Cream
    http://www.blogjam.com/2006/07/20/pepto-bismol-ice-cream

    Would you classify this as redneck or white trash. It might transcend both examples.

  3. RevJATB says:

    I would classify it as surreal. I can’t believe they actually ATE this after they made it!

  4. I like Paula Deen…I think she’s a charming, spunky Southern chick – I think she’s a really pretty middle-aged matronly woman, too…I saw her on the “Best Seafood in the USA” competition. She made like a seafood pot-pie or something, and it looked incredible.

    But bread pudding made with doughnuts???!!!??? That would give somebody diabetes!

  5. Mark says:

    Brad,

    I have had it. It is so danged sweet that it hurts your teeth.

    Mark

Leave a Reply

