Happy Belated Jackie Washington Day

Last Saturday, July 15, was Jackie Washington Day. I am ashamed that I did not mention it on this blog, and even sadder that we were not able to go to Kinloch, Missouri, to celebrate the day properly. (Jackie, of course, is still HUGE in Kinloch.)

I hope some of you were able to visit Play Mama last Saturday and get your pickle nickels. We were careful not to stand near the washing machine on Jackie Washington Day, lest we die.

In belated honor of Jackie and her day, here is a collection of video snippets. First, Jackie’s sister, Ethyl (who maintains she is not bitter) talking about Jackie’s first hit song, “Yield (Before You Hit Me With Your Love)”, which of course is nothing like the Supremes’ “Stop (In the Name of Love).” Then, Don Cornelius of Soul Train fame talks about Jackie. After this is a clip of Jackie performing her hit song, “Look at Me” at the Oscars, a song which Jackie says is a very important song, because “it’s all about self-esteem.”

Now, if you have no idea what I’m talking about, you need to get this.

And make it a double, Antandra.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Fun, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Belated Jackie Washington Day

  1. Mark says:

    John,
    I remember fondly the time we went and saw Jackie on the “Tore Up form the Floor Up” Tour. That was the best concert I have ever been to.
    Mark

  2. RevJATB says:

    Especially when you were chosen out of the audience to help carry Jackie’s sedan chair on “Love Goddess.”

    I just wish I hadn’t eaten those salmon patties out of that vending machine.

  3. ChuckM says:

    Totally off topic, but I thought you might get a kick out of a funny song I came across:

  4. ChuckM1 says:

    umm… oops

Leave a Reply

