Wasn’t she dead?

Janet Batwoman

OK, for those of you who know, today was extremely, ahem, challenging. Therefore, I do not wish to discuss it at present. Perhaps tomorrow.

What I do wish to discuss is this story that was reported earlier today on Morning Edition.

First of all, either the readers of Batman comics are much older than when I was a Batman subscriber, or they are getting way too much information way too soon. I suspect it’s a little of both.

Secondly, before we can talk about why they are turing Batwoman into a Lesbyterian, can someone explain to me how they brought her back from the dead? Batwoman died over 20 years ago. We’re talking Bat-woman here, people, not Bat-girl. Batgirl was Barbara Gordon, daughter of Police Commissioner Gordon. She was the meek and mild librarian who wore her red hair in a bun and who, when in a Batgirl costume, sported a strategically placed yellow bat on her skin-tight bat-unitard (not that I was looking). She rode the Batgirl cycle. She was often paired with Robin in her crime-fighting activities.

Batwoman was Kathy Kane. Rather than a Utility Belt like Batman’s, Batwoman carried a Utility Purse (I am not making this up). Batwoman was killed off in Detective Comics #485 (September 1979).

So, forget about how she became such an Indigo Girls fan: how did she come back from the dead?

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Fun, Peeves, Rants, Silliness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wasn’t she dead?

  1. Mark says:

    I never even knew there was a Batwomyn!!!
    I bet her Batmobile is a Nissan Pathfinder or a Jeep.

Leave a Reply

