B’ham Barbecue, Stop 9

Jim ‘N’ Nick’s Bar-B-Q
220 Oxmoor Road (Homewood)

JimnNicks

Jim ‘n’ Nick’s gets my parents’ vote as their favorite barbecue place in Birmingham.

If you take a look at the web site, you will see that Jim ‘n’ Nick’s has built a veritable barbecue empire. They have locations not only all over the Birmingham area, but all the way up to Charleston and down to Florida. My parents say they like the Trussville location best. They’ve never been to the location closest to them (Hoover), because it’s always so crowded. I guess that’s a good indication of the barbecue-y goodness inside.

Jim ‘n’ Nicks also features a full bar, which is kind of unusual for a barbecue place. Of course, I don’t think too many people would be ordering Mai Tais or Gibsons to go with their pulled pork sandwiches.

Whereas Johnny Ray’s features Honey’s Homemade Pies, Jim ‘n’ Nick’s touts Mable’s Homemade Pies. Are these real ladies, or are they fictional spokespersons, like Uncle Ben and Betty Crocker? Will we ever know? At any rate, “Mable” (if she actually exists) makes the familiar selection of chocolate, coconut, pecan, and lemon pies each and every day. I guess it’s become a burgers-and-fries sort of thing: people expect these pies on the menu when they go to eat barbecue. Not that I’m complaining!

Read the bhamdining.com review.

I’m ready for a road trip.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Barbecue, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to B’ham Barbecue, Stop 9

  1. PaulB says:

    I ate at the Trussville location once. It was very good. Georgia bbq gets an overall thumbs down. My biggest disappointment about living here.

  2. RevJATB says:

    Well, I noticed the other day that Dreamland can ship worldwide. Just a thought . . .

Leave a Reply

