Eucharistic Bread

By popular demand (sort of), I have added the recipe for the John Knox Presbyterian Church Eucharistic Bread to this site. You’ll find it listed on the left side of the page.

This is a great bread to make for Communion, but it’s also just a good, quick bread to make and serve with a meal (you don’t have to score a cross in the top of it to serve it with dinner).

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Church, Food, Liturgy. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Eucharistic Bread

  1. PaulB says:

    Connie makes our bread for Communion– it’s a a honey bread though leavened. It’s gets rave reviews.

  2. RevJATB says:

    Ask her if she’ll forward it to me so I can add it to the file. One cannot have too many Communion bread recipes. Homemade bread is so much nicer than those hard little squares we always had growing up (they had sharp corners too), or those wafers that look, feel, and taste like styrofoam.

  3. Vrouw_Jonker says:

    You need to add the Christmas variation: very “gingerbread-y” and festive!

  4. RevJATB says:

    Ah, yes. I will do that. I still remember reading an article not long after Christmas in which a R.C. priest was lamenting the fact that some priests in his church were “using gingerbread at Christmas Eucharists!” Hey, all I did was add some spices to the bread we normally use. Is God anti-clove?

  5. Brad B says:

    HAHAHA!! The majority seem to think He is anti-flavor, don’t they? We were cleaning the church last night and I snuck one of the bigger wafers in that cabinet in the kitchen – the bag has been opened for who knows how long – tasted the same as they always do…I snapped it in half to see what it was like when the priests did it.

    Last Sunday’s bread was particularly good…had a nice moist center.

  6. mike says:

    Shoot an email to David Cassidy at Redeemer (Austin) and ask him what they use. I attended Redeemer (while in college, pre-Cassidy) and loved the communion bread. Many of us would get in trouble as we tried to sneak a little extra after the service.

  7. RevJATB says:

    Mike,

    I suspect what we’re using may be the same recipe (without my endless variations, that is). When Me-Cow and family were visiting several months ago (now Redeemer members), they worshiped with us, and she remarked that our bread was like the bread used at Redeemer.

    But I’ll find out for sure: one cannot have too many good Communion Bread recipes.

Leave a Reply

