Let me just say this about that . . .

A kidney stone is so not fun.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Let me just say this about that . . .

  1. Vrouw_Jonker says:

    “Awww.” is the general response here.
    “Can I bake him a cake?”
    Vrouw: “Hope everything comes out all right.”
    Mr. J: “Remind me never to have one of them.”

  2. well, it’s Friday am and still no passing the stones, so . . .
    I think I’ll go buy him a keg of beer – that’ll make him go – a lot!

  3. cancerman says:

    I understand it’s no worse than
    having a baby.

    I wonder if you can do a c- section?

    I was trying to think of someone who died of a kidney stone. I’ll have to get back to you.

  4. Brad B says:

    Scene from Wednesday PM, concerning baby-birthing and kidney stones…

    BSB and the Reverend are in the emergency room. The Reverend is in a fetal position suffering pain he has never known. BSB, who likes to “help people,” is powerless. BSB is on the phone with the SmockLady, who is at home suffering a migraine…

    BSB: They’re saying kidney stone…
    SmockLady: But he wasn’t hurting in his back!
    BSB: Well he’s starting to now. Supposedly kidney stones are the closest experience a man will ever have to giving birth, so your husband will be able to have more empathy for this next baby…
    Reverend: {GROOOAAN} Then give me my epidural!!
    SmockLady: My grandmother gave birth to four children naturally and passed two kidney stones. She said she’d rather have 20 more kids than pass one more stone.
    BSB: Oh. Nevermind then.

  5. Vrouw_Jonker says:

    BSB! “nevermind…” Spewing coffee over my keyboard~
    I just sent an e-card to the sufferer, with the comforting message:
    Think of it like a pearl being forged in adversity and pain. Or like an opportunity to empathize, sympathize and even experience a sort of Vulcan Abdominal Meld with your childbearing wife.

    Hey! That Guy Looks Like He Passed a Kidney Stone!

    The theme of this little mineral is developing in such a way that I think perhaps you should name it, JA, once it comes forth. Depending on who it looks like.

  6. RevJATB says:

    I think we’re finished! Such pain over something so tiny!

    You’re right, Cancerman, it’s not like I had, well, cancer or anything.

    Thanks for all the well-wishing, the e-cards, and such.

    I’m just glad I wasn’t on the painkillers long enough to get all Rush Limbaugh and everything.

  7. PaulB says:

    I just hope they don’t run in families. You can just keep them over yonder, thank you very much. BTW, we’ve been having a young couple visit HLPC lately who are grads of LaTech. The husband said the former pastor of JKPC taught NT Greek. He described him as “old as dirt” (his words, not mine).

  8. PaulB says:

    Hey, if you’re going to get the keg— I’ll see you late tonight!

  9. Brad B says:

    Yeah, Paul, he in fact still “teaches” NT Greek. I took Greek from Rev. Lipscomb for 2 years…I’m really really rusty, though. He is I want to say 91 years old and still reads with a couple of students. Who were your visitors?

  10. Cancerman says:

    Hey I have fond memories of the Rush Limbaugh drugs. Overall a nice Guiness is better though. And you don’t have to have your maid score one for you.

    I’m glad your done. I’m assuming it looks more like you than your wife.

  11. PaulB says:

    Brad- our visitors are Ryan & Christina Watson. They were very involved with Christ Community church and college ministry.

  12. Mo says:

    Last stone I had I lost 20 pounds in 4 days due to the fact that pain increases metabolism. I feel your pain, brother.

Leave a Reply

