For your listening (and viewing) pleasure

Here’s a no-doubt classic album by international sensation Heino.

The title, roughly translated, is: “Dear Mother . . . a bouquet that never wilts.”

Heino

Heino reminds me of one of the Andorians on the old “Star Trek” series:

Andorian

The blue sticker on the album cover says, “A gift for the entire year.” No doubt!

I wonder if Heino and David Hasselhoff have recorded any duets.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Silliness. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to For your listening (and viewing) pleasure

  1. Was his sister’s name Heinie?

  2. Barbara says:

    I cannot believe you put this picture up!!! I have never seen Heino’s eyes; he has been wearing these huge black glasses for as long as I can remember, and now I know why. He is one of my grandmother’s favorites and appears on the radio and tv quite frequently. He says he sings Volksmusik, but really he is a part of this very kitschig Schlager-Volksmusik genre. An abomination…
    By the way, his wife’s name is Hannelore. Heino und Hannelore. Nothing more German than that.

  3. RevJATB says:

    Hey! I know a Hannelore! And her last name is Pinkel. I’m not making this up. She is from Tuttlingen.

    Yes, I found out that Heino has Graves’ Disease, a thyroid condition that makes one’s eyes bug out. So long ago he began wearing the really dark glasses all the time. Obviously this is an old album, before he switched to the dark glasses.

    Can anyone explain the shirt/jacket thing he is wearing? Is it a Nehru jacket? Are those rhinestones on the front? Did he borrow this from Hannelore?

  4. Vrouw_Jonker says:

    Oy. I think perhaps a duet with more like Mary Schneider would be in order.
    Looks like he’s been hitting Hannelore’s peroxide and/or wig closet to me.

  5. Mark says:

    I was looking on iTunes and they have many Heino songs listed.

  6. RevJATB says:

    Does that mean there is a Heino Compilation CD in your future, Mark?

    Barbara, Mark knows the same Hannelore I do. a.k.a. Hanne, a.k.a. Funky Winkerbean.

  7. Mark says:

    I listened to the snippets on iTunes, and it reminds me of the music that they played all the time on those German tour buses.

    Michi, a German Lady that works with me, tells me that Heino is a huge star there. She says that he is always made fun of though.

    I wonder if Funky Winkerbean is still spouting communist rhetoric, and no foundation garments?

    It is weird. I can only remember those people by their nicks. I wonder what has become of Moses, Billy Jean, and Cartoon Face?

  8. Barbara says:

    Funky Winkerbean??? I really like her last name, by the way…
    Heino is indeed a big star in Germany–to my grandmother’s generation. Everybody else just makes fun of him

  9. RevJATB says:

    Let’s see: how many actual, German names of our German friends can I remember?

    Dorothea (a.k.a. Doro), Dorothee, Mathias, Hans Helge, Hans Joergen, Hartmut, Kirsten, Dagmar, Damaris, Angie, Susanne (a.k.a. Trippi), Klaus, Friedlinde, Hanne(lore), Christina (“And on your left you will see Charlemagne’s bath . . .”), Wulf. That’s about it.

    Moses, Billie Jean, and Cartoon Face I can only remember by face and nickname.

    Oh, I remember Claudia too. She’s the one who thought my hair looked like a mushroom. How can I forget that.

    Barbara, if we only had a choir at JKPC I’d drag out some of our old Jugendchor songs, such as “Kommt zum Fest des Lebens” and “Herz und Verstand”. Maybe we could get Mark to come over from Phoenix to join in, especially on his favorite, “Wir wissen so wenig”.

  10. Barbara says:

    Oh, what names… On second thought, they are appropriate to the whole Deutsche Welle, Muenchner Freiheit era. And so is the mushroom hair.

Leave a Reply

