King Cake Withdrawals

Tomorrow is Mardi Gras. Or as Bugs Bunny would say, “Madri Grass.” Wish I had a whole King Cake to myself right now, from Paul’s Pastry Shop down in Picayune, MS. Living in North Louisiana will be nice in that the weather (and terrain) will be more like home (Birmingham), but at this time of year it will be hard to be so far away from good King Cake!

It’s really kind of weird, moving to a new place but not really being there yet. We feel like displaced people. All of the old ties in our old home have been cut, but we still live here three days out of the week. Friday was our son’s birthday, and since we were in LA instead of MS, none of his old friends could celebrate with him, fortunately, new friends Les Bourgeoisie came to celebrate with us. We had a great time.

About revjatb

I am a father of six who is trying to do his best! My interests are varied. I have one blog, KnowTea, that is primarily focused on liturgy and worship and another one, Bengtsson's Baking, that is about, well, baking! I hope you enjoy both of them, and if you have any questions, please contact me!
This entry was posted in Food, Fun, Holidays, Holy Days. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to King Cake Withdrawals

  1. My folks just got back from a weekend in New Orleans and brought us back a fresh-made that afternoon- King Cake from Randazzo’s bakery. I was in heaven just smelling it through the plastic! I did think of ya’ll for a minute while I was eating it, but don’t think that there will be any left when you get here this weekend. So sorry.

Leave a Reply

